We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mattresses Very Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mattresses Very Poor”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The property is very well taken care of however the mattresses are very poor. We both had terrible backaches after trying to sleep on for two days. The mattresses are very cheap and are of very low quality. Mentioned to front desk personnel and they basically acted like they could care less what our issues were. Room 1310.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    124
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
192
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Clean hotel. One wing of the hotel was under construction when I was there. The fitness center and pool were top-notch. I can't wait to go back again when the temperature is warmer and take advantage of the pool. The she-crab soup was amazing! Every room has a view of the river and a balcony.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals_GM, General Manager at Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Marriott Shoals. We really appreciate your business and your feedback. Our renovation will be completed in February so we definitely look forward to having you back when it gets warmer. Next time try our crab cakes in the 360 Grille, they are also amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great experience on every level for our birthday get away. Front desk. bellman, housekeeping, Swamper's staff and entertainment exceeded all expectations. Clean, spacious and comfortable with a million dollar view. Looking forward to our next trip to the Shoals, would stay nowhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals_GM, General Manager at Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa and for providing us with this feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great time, georgous hotel decorated for the holidays! Very relaxing, great room, clean and nicely furnished. Larger room, quiet stay. Everything was in working order and again, just a nice quiet stay!

Room Tip: Had top floor - nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals_GM, General Manager at Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa and for providing us with this feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas is a special time for us here in the Shoals. I’m glad that you enjoyed our decorations. We look forward to having you back soon. Try coming in the summer when you can enjoy our feature pool and water slide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were really excited to stay at this resort, for some r&r after a long road trip.

What we liked: Free upgrade to junior suite, free wifi, nice bar/restaurant with live music and a good drinks menu, beautiful views, friendly staff.

What we didn't like: Bar was very rowdy on the Saturday night and music could be heard on the 5th floor; upgraded room was a great size but not as clean as I would have expected (i.e, hairs in the shower and floor). We were quite unimpressed with the pool facilities, didn't seem very clean, was not staffed and subsequently there were many kids running amock screaming and shouting unsupervised, so we chose not to swim. The spa was nice but separate for men and women, so we could not enjoy an afternoon there together.

Also encountered a fire alarm in the middle of the day - looked down to reception to see staff just wandering around ignoring it - we only realised we needed to leave when we heard the fire truck sirens, but still had staff walk past us giving no instruction. We were not told when we could re enter so we just went off into town for a while.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals_GM, General Manager at Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Marriott Shoals and for making us aware of your issues. I regret that your first impression of us was a negative one. We pride ourselves on our service and hope to provide a perfect experience every time. I apologize for letting you down, especially with the cleanliness issues for which there is no excuse. Our hotel is very popular with families and our Swampers lounge is known for its live music 7 nights a week. I regret that it was a disturbance to your visit. I have asked my staff to diligently monitor the noise levels so that we do not disturb future guests. I hope that you will give us another opportunity if you return to our community and allow us to provide the level of service that has made us the #1 Marriott in North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my newly married wife stayed here for Two nights back in October to have our unofficial Honey-Moon. It was an awesome experience for us. Great way to start a marriage. Great food great service, clean rooms and bathrooms (needs microwave) and cool amenities and a BEAUTIFUL place. Loved Swampers even though a little over priced but would eat there again. Awesome breakfast buffet. The over all price for the room was ok just wish it were a little lower but understand given with how the hotel is. Will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trojan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals_GM, General Manager at Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Marriott Shoals. We are honored that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. I’m so glad that you enjoyed everything and chose to share you experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and hope that you come back again really soon, at least for your 1st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had reservations elsewhere but decided to stop in to see if a room had opened up and we were in luck. Even though renovation is going on, we had a beautiful room in a quiet place. We enjoyed the concierge's lounge both at dinner and breakfast. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Model
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa

Property: Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Cox Creek Parkway South, 10 Hightower Place, Florence, AL 36530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophistication and charm of Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa is matched only by the natural beauty of its resort-style setting. Our hotel in Florence, Alabama is: * Located in the state’s northwest corner * Nestled along the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail * Set in the heart of the Tennessee River Valley, one hour from Huntsville * Less than two hours from Birmingham, Nashville, and Memphis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shoals Hotel And Spa
Marriott Shoals Hotel Florence
Marriott Florence
Florence Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing