We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunrises & sunsets along the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“sunrises & sunsets along the river”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. Grounds are nice and the staff is very friendly. Several indoor and outdoor pools (some heated) and beautiful spa facility and the kiddie park on the grounds is perfect for kids (although it's very sunny so maybe not the best place for play on hot summer days). Fall color just beginning to show on trees so the view is wonderful. Warm days and pleasantly cool nights make this a great time of year to visit this area. We found plenty of interesting & diverse attractions nearby, too! Sadly, I'm here only on Sunday and Monday nights and the award-winning 360 Grille restaurant with incredible views is not open on those nights but by many accounts from friends, the food is outstanding.

Room Tip: Guests in east-facing rooms can see the glorious sunrise as the sun tops the hills that rim the Tenn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne4078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    124
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
101
191
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Best hotel close the the Muscle Shoals RTJ trail courses. Rooms are marriott nice. Nothing overly special. Clean. Good view out to the river. Bar scene is jumping. Restaurant was surprisingly good and not terribly priced.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my third trip in four months. This property is nicely designed, well cared for, and professionally run. The staff is efficient, friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean, well appointed, and have balconies overlooking the pool and grounds, Wilson Dam and Tennessee River. There is a large pool area, and walking trails. The Swampers restaurant in the hotel is good casual in or outdoor dining, with a bar which provides live music. The 360 Grille, in the tower on the grounds is a fine dining experience, with a great changing panoramic view, as the restaurant slowly rotates.

This is one of my favorite places.

The is a Spa on the grounds, which I have not used.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I grew up in the area and visit often. A visit to this hotel will be terrific. The rooms were clean and spacious and the artwork shows scenes of places around the area. The view from the rooms are great, especially looking out over Lake Wilson and the river.. The food is always good and service is Southern hospitality at its best. The pool is wonderful for kids and adults and a game room and exercise room are available. Be sure to visit the Splash Pad and park in the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a /lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyd726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I travel 180 plus nights per year covering 38 states and I have never seen a property even close to this in a market the size of Florence Alabama. The guest suites, the food and the entertainment is first class. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bama1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I had the nicest, most relaxing three days we've ever had away from home. As we drove up to the hotel and saw the beautiful buildings and manicured grounds, we knew we were going to love it - and we did! The hotel has everything one needs for comfort: well-appointed, clean rooms, lovely private balcony (where we spent lots of our time), and the friendliest staff to be found anywhere! The restaurants are nice and the food was delicious; the pools are beautiful; the grounds are great for taking walks, and there is an exercise room we could use if the weather had not been good for walking. We LOVED our stay there and can hardly wait to go again. We did not take advantage of the Spa, but I feel sure it would be comparable to all the other great amenities.

Room Tip: Our room was on the sixth floor over-looking the pool - nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at this resort three (3) times now in the last few months. This time was a rewards stay, so the price was right. The service was great as usual. The property itself is in good shape and it appears to be well-maintained.

On a sad note, the television cable tv was very bad. No digital channels and the analog channels were horrible in quality (see attached photos). Watched the Alabama football game on ESPN and the signal and picture quality were really bad. Reminded me of tv reception in the 1970's. This property should ditch the provider or fix the existing television infrastructure in order to avoid a cheap "Holiday Inn" feel.

I mentioned this to the front desk the next morning so that they could make a note for it to be fixed for the next customer. The front desk employee stated that I should have reported it earlier and they at least would have sent someone to the room to look at the problem. (I believe her and this was the appropriate answer). However, one can not be expected to have their cable television fixed in the middle of a game.

I noticed on this board that a refurbishment is scheduled. Hopefully it will include upgraded digital television service and new mattresses. (The mattress was most uncomfortable). I do however realize that mattress preferences are subjective and that it is difficult to make each person happy.

Dinner in Swampers was just okay. Ordered a 14 oz. Ribeye and it was unusually bad. For some reason the flavor of the steak was just off and certainly not worth $20+. Service however was excellent as usual.

Overall, this is a great resort and I can't really complain too loudly about the stay since I was staying on a reward. If I had pay the $170+ rate (like with previous stays) I would have been very disappointed.

Room Tip: High Floor for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa

Property: Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Cox Creek Parkway South, 10 Hightower Place, Florence, AL 36530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophistication and charm of this unique Florence hotel will be matched only by the natural beauty of its resort-style setting: * Located in the state’s northwest corner in Florence, Alabama * Nestled along the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail * Set in the heart of the Tennessee River Valley, one hour from Huntsville * Less than two hours from Birmingham, Nashville, and Memphis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shoals Hotel And Spa
Marriott Shoals Hotel Florence
Marriott Florence
Florence Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing