We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed with husband for two nights while he's traveling for business. Very relaxing stay, for me anyway. I think it's worth it to book a concierge room with a river view. A very nice lady helped me in the lounge this morning for breakfast. The lounge is open for breakfast and then for the evening. It's also open in between for drinks and snacks. The lady also told me that I could borrow magazines to take to the pool. The pool is amazing, although there does seem to be a lot of wasps out there:/. We did enjoy a couple meals at the casual dining restaurant swampers. Very helpful staff and beautiful hotel. Excellent housekeeping. Not sure what else there is to do around, as I spent my time by the pool on the short trip.

Room Tip: 6th floor river view and pool view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    128
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
105
196
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible! 2 hours 15 minutes from Nashville. Located on the banks of the Tennessee River. Lots to see, do, and eat! Rosenbaum House designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Helen Keller birthplace . W.C. Handy birthplace . Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. Bunyan's Bar-B-Q!!! Trowbridge's( chili dogs, white beans, and malts) Mac McAnally.....

Hotel has bar,Swampers, and a revolving restaurant, 360 Grille, atop the Renaissance tower. Room overlooked pool and the Tennessee river. Staff members were very friendly.

If you ride this is a great weekend destination.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is such a beautiful facility. It is a shame that it probably is underutilized. It is right next to the local convention center, which, despite having stayed here many times in the past 6 months, I have never seen being used. The lobby is grand, with soaring ceilings and balconies, a water feature and many window. The bar has live music most every night. Don't miss the opportunity to hang out next to the gas fire pits just outside the bar. The pool looks fun, with a waterfall and waterslide, but the weather has been inhospitable each time I stay. If you can afford it, I highly recommend a dinner in the tower. The rotating view is beautiful even at night and the food is exquisite. The rooms are large with an accessible balcony. The rooms have clean open bathrooms, but they lack a tub. The staff is friendly and helpful, and they do a great job of decorating for the holidays if you happen to be there during the season. My biggest issue with this resort is that there isn't much around it to do and it always seems empty, except at the rather lively bar where the crowd is clearly music driven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time in 5 months I have stayed at The Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa for business. I wish all the hotels I have stayed at for business trips were this nice. I have enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel both times. The room was great and the beds comfortable. All of the staff are very friendly and works hard to make sure you have a pleasant stay. One night they used their shuttles to drop off/pick up our group to one of the local restaurants. As far as the location, the hotel is only about a 5 minute drive from where I was conducting my business, is next to the river for fishing, and there a golf courses close by. My hotel room had a nice large balcony and overlooked the river. I did use the outside hot tub and it was clean with that strong chlorine odor you sometime have with hotel pools. I would like to stay at this hotel in future for pleasure with the family.

I do highly recommend the sweet chilli wings at the Swampers Bar & Grill!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mntcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Florence, Alabama because of it's close proximity to Nashville. We saw this hotel and thought it looked amazing...we were right! We went with our 1 year old and 4 year old. The kids LOVED the train playground out back as well as the indoor pool. (It was too cold to swim outside!). My husband and I took turns after the kids went to bed and had a drink at the spectacular revolving restaurant and listened to the nightly live music in the bar/ restaurant near the lobby. For kids, there's a children's museum nearby that is small, but perfect for young children. Of course Muscle Shoals has a great music scene and golf. Overall it was a great trip. We are actually going again this weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the #1 Marriott worldwide and I now know why. The hotel is very well kept but not extravagant and the people are the friendliest, most helpful, and courteous that I have experienced anywhere. This is a tribute to the individuals and the local management. Visit the website for the amenities and pictures. Being from Alabama, the employees make me proud because of the their true southern hospitality. I have stayed at several Marriott hotels including the Ross Bridge Resort in Birmingham and the entire organization needs study the way this hotel is run. My wife and I ate at the 360 restaurant which is a must do when visiting. If you have never been to Alabama or played the RTJ golf trail this is the place to begin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadeaminut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went last weekend and stayed over Saturday night. I had read reviews of the hotel and was looking forward to trying the "spinning" restaurant. Neither disappointed. When we first arrived the friendly bellman opened my door so quickly I almost fell out of the car, we usually have to flag someone down to help with our luggage. :) Not here, quick professional service with a smile. The front desk was just as friendly and efficient. We were checked in and in our room in no time

Our room was a king, perfectly clean and smelled great. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool and with a nice view of the river and dam. The bathroom was spacious and had all the amenities one could want. I was concerned that I left my jacket at home, but found the hotel provided robe to be a comfy and warm substitute. We also enjoyed the mini-fridge and coffee maker. The only negative I can think of it is the internet is not free. It was spotty at times and we had trouble when using my husband's iPad and my iPhone at the same time. I don't mind paying $10 a night for wifi, but only if it works and is fast.

The highlight of our visit had to be dinner at the 360 Grille. It was better than I expected. Very nice, cozy and romantic. The food and service were excellent. Not stuffy or pretentious, but just right. A little pricey, but to be expected and honestly worth every penny. The view was amazing and the added novelty of slowly rotating as you dine just made the whole experience extra special. After dinner we had drinks on the outdoor patio (enclosed with plastic because of the chilly weather) with fire pits, tables, televisions, and piped in music from the inside bar. Very nice and relaxing. The drinks were delicious and our waiter was attentive and friendly, but not overbearing.

Overall, our experience was excellent. I would definitely return to this hotel. I would like to have a day to enjoy the spa and the indoor pool and hot tub or in nice weather the amazing outdoor pool. We also discovered Ivy Green, the birthplace of Helen Keller, not too far from the hotel on our ride home. I would have loved to go in and tour the home, but it was closed on Sunday. Not much else to see or do in the area but the hotel is a worthy destination all by itself. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimblyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#5 of 11 in Florence
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa

Property: Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Cox Creek Parkway South, 10 Hightower Place, Florence, AL 36530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophistication and charm of Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa is matched only by the natural beauty of its resort-style setting. Our hotel in Florence, Alabama is: * Located in the state’s northwest corner * Nestled along the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail * Set in the heart of the Tennessee River Valley, one hour from Huntsville * Less than two hours from Birmingham, Nashville, and Memphis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shoals Hotel Florence
Marriott Shoals Hotel And Spa
Marriott Florence
Florence Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing