We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific resort style hotel and spa in the Shoals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Waldorf, Md
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific resort style hotel and spa in the Shoals”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Came to Florence on a two day business trip and was very pleasantly surprised at the comfort, service, and food quality at this gem of a Marriott property. Following our meeting, I indulged myself with a massage and include the on premise spa in this quality assessment. Nice looking facility and very spacious rooms with typical high quality bedding - very clean and comfortable. Definitely the best facility hereabouts, but is place would stand up anywhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaimeDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    124
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
101
191
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We visited the Marriott Shoals for our anniversary. The hotel is well cared for and very clean. Service was outstanding! Every interaction w/ an employee was friendly, helpful, and polite. The hotel layout is resort perfect. It's a relatively large hotel but has lovely Southern charm. Our king sized bed was soooo comfortable and the decor was pleasant. Lots of pillows. Loved the separate shower and tub in the bathroom. Loved the balcony w/ chairs and a small cocktail table. Nice view of the pool, dam, and lake from the windows and balcony. The pool area is attractive / inviting. We had meals at 360 Grille (rotating restaurant in a 300 ft tower - great food and sunset view!) and Swampers. Really good! We had breakfast in bed thru room service. Our breakfast was fresh and hot. Really delicious. We'll be back soon. Planning to play golf on the beautiful RTJ golf trail.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage-1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at this hotel, and he is continuing to stay the week for work. He travels a great deal, and we were both so impressed with this hotel. We found the staff to be very accommodating and everyone from the reception and bell staff to the housekeepers and maintenance were so friendly. Every employee we encountered seemed to be proud to work there and happy with their job. More than once, I caught employees straightening up, doing a little bit extra, during downtime. We can't say enough about how enjoyable our stay was!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMich76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited this resort for the long Easter weekend. It is a beautiful property. Our room was very comfortable and we had a balcony that overlooked the pool and river. The pool had just opened and evidently there were lots of new rules and lots of eager young staff members ready to enforce them. The pool area was not crowded. We were accompanied by our three grandchildren who swam even though the water was ice cold. The pool bar was not open so we ordered drinks and food from the restaurant. There was a very nice waiter who served us all day, and the size of our tab was significant. Since we had children with us (the youngest was age 2), we took a small ice chest with juice drinks for them (Capri Sun). We had not been there long when we were approached by a young staff member who told us we could not bring a cooler to the pool. A few minutes later another staff member told us we could not have the cooler We finally took the cooler back upstairs but kept some juice drinks in our pool bag. They continued to watch us and approached us several more times to tell us we couldn't have them there. When we left the pool we asked the employee in charge about it, and he said that people had been bringing their own alcohol to the pool, and they had orders from above that it would not be allowed. I guess they wanted us to pay them $5 for a cola every time our grandchild wanted something to drink. What if she was a baby with a bottle? Would that have been banned also?

I understand their alcohol policy, and we did not break that, but we felt it was ridiculous not to allow the children to drink a small juice box from home rather than fill them up with sodas. It's a shame there could not have been some flexibility under these circumstances. The pool manager went so far as to say that some people sneaked alcohol out there in baby bottles!

I called the resort a few days later to speak to a manager about this, but I was directed to the same person I had complained to before. There was no apology, only a statement that they had a policy that had to be followed or they would loose their jobs.

I doubt I will stay there again because of this. The food and drinks there were pricey and we felt like we were being stalked while at the pool. That Saturday night we went down for dinner and the restaurant was completely empty. Maybe they needed to sell more drinks around the pool to make up for a slow weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I brought a Bridal Party to the Spa and We were very disappointed in the overall experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the services were moderate at best. We received gel manicures which peeled off like sheets of paper the very next day and our feet were barely buffed. I spoke with the manager once we arrived back in town (traveled to spa as Bachelorette party) but it was never made right. I just wish we had gotten what we paid for. We were all very disappointed that we had to touch up our manicures and pedicures before the wedding the next day. I have two friends getting married this year and I plan on taking them elsewhere. It's a shame because the Marriott and 360 grille was so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very Nice hotel. The Big Rooms! Comfortable bed, Rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the beautiful Pool area.. Indoor and Outdoor Pool... Kids loved it! The Breakfast is Fantastic. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToyaSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My extended family and I stayed there this past weekend. The hotel and rooms are clean and beautiful; the staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. My nieces and nephews ranging in age from 17 months to 22 years old all enjoyed the pool. The zero-entry shallow pool area was especially nice for the toddlers. We celebrated one child's birthday and when we needed a screwdriver to assemble a toy, the staff quickly provided one.

We ate at Swampers breakfast buffet both days and it was a delicious southern breakfast including eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, grits, fresh fruit, pancakes, waffles, etc.

I could definitely see myself going here again for a relaxing weekend with or without the extended family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alacontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa

Property: Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Cox Creek Parkway South, 10 Hightower Place, Florence, AL 36530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophistication and charm of this unique Florence hotel will be matched only by the natural beauty of its resort-style setting: * Located in the state’s northwest corner in Florence, Alabama * Nestled along the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail * Set in the heart of the Tennessee River Valley, one hour from Huntsville * Less than two hours from Birmingham, Nashville, and Memphis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shoals Hotel And Spa
Marriott Shoals Hotel Florence
Marriott Florence
Florence Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing