We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has been awhile”
Review of Bunyan's BBQ

Bunyan's BBQ
Ranked #11 of 162 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: 256 766-3522 zip is 35630
Restaurant details
Description: 256 766-3522 zip is 35630
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“has been awhile”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently visited Florence again and had the opportunity to pick up a pulled pork sandwich with hot slaw and a half chicken with white sauce plus some baked beans. As frequent partakers of bar be que we have rarely found anything better. Prices are reasonable. This is not a typical sit down restaurant so be prepared to order and then take the food to a nearby park. If you want fancy 'fixins' then go elsewhere, but if you want good food at a fair price then go to Bunyon's. We recommend going to the nearby McFarland Bottoms city park and eat at one of the picnic tables along the river. If you take your swimsuit and a float, there is a beach. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic hot dogs!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Bunyan's also has truly wonderful hot dogs. Long and slender, in a small bun (I didn't know they made different size hot dog buns!) steamed to perfection, loaded with Bunyan's famous slaw, nothing else is needed.

I dare you to leave after eating only one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ anywhere!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My hubby has been taking me here to get BBQ for almost 20+ years. This is some of the best BBQ you will ever put in your mouth, plus the hot slaw on top just tops it off as the winner of BBQ around this area. Can't leave Florence without a trip for take out BBQ to take home. Outstanding!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SID1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Slaw ever made”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place is a typical carry out BBQ place in Florence that has been around for ever. The BBQ pork is very good but the slaw is what keeps me coming back. I also have to get a slaw dog while waiting on my order!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favorite!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love this BBQ. For my taste Bunyan's has the right amount of smoke and overall flavor. The hot slaw is the perfect sandwich topper. I also can never leave here without one of their hot dogs, again it's perfect with the hot slaw. Add a bag o Lays and a Coke and you have a feast!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunyan's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Bunyan's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing