We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice and new!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton Ga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice and new!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is almost new. The room we had was a King with an extra large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. It was a beautiful room. Everything was exceptionally clean and the triple sheeted bed was great! This rom felt more like you were staying in a luxury hotel rather than a HIE. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I am a rewards member and I think my room was upgraded. The room was a ground floor and was a huge r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us ! The king feature room with whirlpool tub is definitely one of our most spacious rooms .Please come back and stay with us again soon . And thank you for being a valued IHG Rewards Club member !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
15
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My dad and I were traveling down to Alabama for a funeral. It was rushed and at the last minute but I was able to use my employee discount to get a room at this hotel. Because an employee rate does not lock in a room type I called the front desk to ask if they would be able to put us in a room with two beds, non-smoking if possible. Even though they were almost sold out (and did sell out the day before we were arriving, aka the day I was making this call) the lady I talked to, Michelle, was able to get us locked into a vary nice two bed queen room.

We drove through the night and arrived at about 4:45am. I went in and talked to the Night Auditor, Jennifer I believe, who was helpful in getting a little of the paperwork out of the way then and there. She was also kind enough to let us sleep in our car in the lot for about two hours without calling the cops on us.

We left the lot at about 7am, met up with family members and took care of what we had to do, then came back to the hotel about 2pm. I had already called ahead and again spoke to Michelle to ask if the room was ready (check in wasn't till 3pm but we were beat) and she was the one to check us in. The check in was quick without a lot of chit-chat but that was because I was falling asleep standing not because of any lack of service.

My dad crashed on the bed almost before the door closed but I took a shower first. The towels, shampoo, soap and so on was all standard for Holiday Inn Express but I personally think that while not what I would buy they work in a pinch to clean up. The towels were soft and didn't have any stains that I could see. After I got out of the shower I hit the bed and to be honest I don't remember getting that good a look at the room. Seemed nice but I after a 16 hour drive, Alabama heat, and two hours of sleep grabbed in a car I just didn't care as long as the AC blew cold and the bed was softer then rocks. As both of those conditions were met I quickly lapsed into blackness.

I woke up later and called the desk for numbers for pizza delivery at about 10pm. I didn't get the name of the lady I spoke to then but again she was vary helpful. We ate and decided to hit the road early and get moving. There was nobody at the desk when we came down to check out but it was just after midnight and a sign was at the desk saying that the agent was helping another guest and would be back in 5 minutes. We didn't really need to change anything on the billing so we just dropped the keys on the desk and left.

Over all, it was what I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. As we didn't have any real problems we didn't really test them to the fullest extent of their service skills but the mere fact the there was no problem says something in and of its self. We didn't get to try the breakfast but the brief look I got at it when we got there the first time looked promising. The rooms seemed nice and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and even with what seemed to be a teen soft ball team running around we didn't have any trouble with noise. Though with how my dad snores maybe you should ask our neighbors about that last one.

Based on that all that I would rate this hotel at 4 out of 5 or good but not the best in the world. However, they did help us on a few smaller things like the early check in, sleeping in the car, and getting the 2 bed room so I'd bump that to 5 out of 5 because of the service. Its not the best hotel in the world, but its a nice place to stay if your traveling. And that's all you can really ask for.

As a heads up, I am a current employee of another Holiday Inn Express at the time I write this. I normally feel like I need to pick at every little thing because I don't want it to seem like I am trying to sell you on my brand. I didn't do that to much this time because I honestly liked this place for the short time I was there. Readers should note I was checked into the hotel for less then 12 hours and was dealing with a lot of emotional things while staying in town. To try to limit any unintentional marketing on my part I have left out where I live and work as much as possible (and I do not live and work in the same place for those who say that you can just look at my profile) and I will state that while this hotel and the one I work for share a name I work for a different owner and have no connection to this hotel other then that we both pay franchise fees to Holiday Inn Express.

I have tried to be as fair as I can and leave it to you the reader to decide if I have been or not.

Room Tip: This is one of the few hotels I still see with smoking rooms. If that's what you like cool, if n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is always nice to receive feedback especially from a fellow hospitality industry employee. I am very glad to know that you had a comfortable stay under the circumstances that brought you to town. I hope you will come back and stay again in the future and see more of our area.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipperville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I work away from home 8 months out of the year. I stay at this Holiday Inn and no where else. The staff is always helpful and very courteous. They make sure that me and my crew always feel like we are at home when we are here. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I like that restaurants are within walking distance, and the overall experience while here is second to none. I would highly suggest anyone to stay here if they are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to post a review. We are so glad that we can provide you and your crew a home away from home. We look forward to making you feel welcome here for many more stays !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had such positive, friendly, and pleasant service from check-in until check-out. Allysen at the front desk was just awesome - she made us feel like welcomed guests. I just love polka dots and when I walked into my room - voila! Modern and up-to-date with POLKA DOT curtains! Loved it! The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. The Jacuzzi worked perfectly and we had plenty of hot water! And I could even get enough quarters for the laundry! So, why not 5 stars? Well ... the room doors were heavy and hard to close quietly. Our jobs require early mornings (anywhere from a 2AM to a 4AM departure) and I hate waking my neighbors. Our carpet was stained. Housekeeping kept forgetting to restock our cups. Oh, and the channel selection left a LOT to be desired - it was very limited. These are all minor. The service and friendliness of the staff outshines these annoyances and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
First let me thank you for your wonderful remarks about our staff and service here at The Holiday Inn Express Florence NE. Feedback from our guests is very important as it lets us know how we are doing . I will adress these issues with the staff so that we may improve upon them. I have also taken into consideration your concerns about our channel selection and the doors.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we will be very glad to welcome you back the next time you are in the area !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What you would expect from IHG. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was good. Also had several good restaurants nearby. Would stay here again if in the area. Need to pay attention to the location because it is easy to miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your stay . We are very happy that you thought our hotel was worth the stay ! Please visit again soon and we will look forward to welcoming you back !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at the HIE in Florence for work. The hotel was nice and the employees were friendly. But, there was a large black hair on top of the bed, visible without moving any sheets or pillows. A hair or two seems to be the average these days, so that’s what I’ll give for the overall rating. I mentioned the hair to the front desk at checkout.
If you stay at this hotel, I would suggest requesting a room on the top level. My room was on the second floor and I could hear kids running around on the third floor in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperPoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mike E

Thank you for review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I want to apologize for the incidences you experienced during your recent stay. I am very sorry to know that you had a hair on your bed linens and that you were disturbed by other guests above you. This is certainly not in keeping with our usual high level of service and cleaniliness. We hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again the next time you are in Florence.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Every single associate is incredible. The hotel is always clean, neat and the rooms are really comfortable. Everything is up to date. What really makes this place special is the people. They ran out of newspapers, so they went out and got me one! House keeping is as pleasant as can be, and they make certain the breakfast food is hot and well made. If you are here on business and need to be looked out for this is the place. They care for their customers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sbromell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Good Evening Sbromell,

Thank you for your generous compliments on our staff. We aim to make every guest feel like they are at home. I am please to see that goal was also met during your stay. Remember, it is our pleasure to welcome you to our property each time you visit. We thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Address: 180 Etta Gray St, Florence, AL 35630-9574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Florence, Alabama hotel's near the Tennessee River. The Holiday Inn Express® Florence Northeast Hotel is located in the northwest corner of Alabama, an area best known for its variety of outdoor activities. As you visit this friendly town, pause to enjoy the surrounding countryside, which includes the beautiful Tennessee River and Pickwick Lake. Business travelers lodging in Florence appreciate our on-site Business Center and 1,008-square-foot meeting room. We are close to many major businesses, including Wise Alloys, TNT Fireworks, TVA (Tennessee Valley Authority), Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Florence Industrial Park and North American Lighting. The University of North Alabama, Eliza Coffee Memorial Hospital and Helen Keller Hospital are located in Florence, Alabama. Our hotel's property is near the Tennessee River, which boasts excellent fishing, swimming and boating. After a busy day on the river, slow down and enjoy a leisurely game of golf at The Shoals, part of the popular Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The family can enjoy a visit to the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, as well as the Helen Keller House and WC Handy Birthplace & Museum. You can begin each day with a fantastic meal from our complimentary hot breakfast bar, and while lodging in Florence, our guests can also take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access we provide in each guest room. Our hotel also features an indoor pool and Fitness Center. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing