We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW What a Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW What a Great Hotel!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel has to be the nicest in Florence! The outside is very nicely landscaped, kept clean and has small touches like stepping stones from parking lot to the sidewalk! The lobby is very well done. Hotel has a great exercise room, breakfast room with those great cinnamon rolls and a pancake machine! Exercise room had sanitizing wipes for the machines which I love. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. I don't know how old this hotel is, but it looks brand new.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the Holiday Inn Express website to get the best deal. Others claim better deals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay ! We are very glad that you enjoyed it. Please come back and stay with us again soon !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
19
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

How refreshing it is when you arrive in a new town and are greeted with a friendly smile. It just makes all the difference. This property was a great experience. Tired and hot, once we checked into our room, we checked out the pool. I had a man look and didn't see any towels so went and asked, was told where they were, but found only one. By the time I had got back down in my swimming trunks, there was a big pile of hot fresh towels straight out of the clothes dryer.
The gym had new equipment, the dining room had hot coffee all day and night.
The room was spotless and full of little extras as you would expect (but don't find in all) from most IHG properties. The air con was nice and quiet and the hotel was handy to food and shopping.
I'd definitely recommend a stop here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesBro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay . We love getting comments from our guests . We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to our area !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. Nice patio for breakfast and pool relaxation
We had the misfortune to miss the patio opportunity due to maintenance. We also missed the pancakes due lack of mix. And when our beds where made they forgot sheets in one.... Coincidence?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sefranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us ! All comments are appreciated. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please be assured all issues have been addressed as to prevent recurrence. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georiga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My reviews are based on a road warrior experience that lives in hotels 35-45 week(s) out of a year so I look for a little more in a hotel than the normal traveler- comfort, soft clean beds/pillows, "extremely clean" room/hotel, fridge/microware and a staff with good customer service, good guest services - period. Moved to this hotel from another hotel didn’t like. The location is excellent, walking distance to a Major Mall, Major Restaurants and other major shopping. Freeway access is close by. Small town but is well populated and busy. The exterior of the hotel is nice, clean and appealing. Grounds are well kept! The interior hotel lobby, new and nice/clean/appealing. The front desk staff is professional and nice. Needed to scan and print had a problem, the night desk clerk/gentlemen was overly helpful. He communicated well and effectively. They all make eye contact and greet you as you leave and entered. Now to the rooms, was "extremely" clean, up-to-to-date and the bathroom was clean and equip with the norm. Room was equipped with a microwave, fridge, sink and even plastic spoons and plates in the cabinets. The bed was extremely soft and the pillows were soft. The overall room was an A+ in my book. The food/breakfast can't speak on didn't eat there, so I can't rate. I rate the maids also because they are important part of the guest service process. The maids cleaned the room as if was the first time I was walking into the room, excellent job. They communicate extremely well and very helpful. The only thing is if you are in the room early morning you can hear them in the hall talking loudly and when cleaning the room next to you they hit and bump the walls or something not sure just loud. I feel for the person downstairs. I personally think from basically living in hotels they can do better its a part of guest service process too. If you have a Do-Not Disturb sign on your door the maids should'nt be in front of your door yelling trying to get the attention of another maid. That's my opinion. With that said, they do their jobs "exceptional well" because my room was extremely clean and they are friendly. Also, my iron didn't work and I had an iron within 5 mins, I had a bulb out in the room and it was replaced within 5 mins. The maintenance gentleman was friendly and professional. The staff overall was "exceptionally great" and friendly. I would stay here again because it is an exceptionally good hotel. Very Very clean!!

I give detail reviews because I rely on reviews when picking hotels, living on the road is no joke.

Room Tip: My room faced the front of the hotel on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghawell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate all input from our guests. Your feedback helps us to improve our service for all. We hope you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in our area and look forward to welcoming you back.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanoga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stay in Florence quite a bit for work and normally stayed at Hamptons, but since they built a Holiday Inn Express I moved to there location instead. I have to say it is a great hotel and enjoy the manager reception they have on monday nights, plus I like the location were I can walk to many restaurants unlike the other hotels in the area not many restaurant selections within walking distance. The place has great employees front desk have to say outstanding service when I checkin and they always hand me a little goody snack and I alway enjoy that free upgrade because of my platinum status. I've never had a problem and I highly recommend this place to anyone whom is traveling it is definetly a home away from home for me since I live in hotels 5 days out of the week.

Room Tip: I'd say any room on the 3rd floor when ball teams are having tournaments there, which the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We are so glad you choose Holiday Inn Express & Suites when you are in the area ! We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My weekend stay at this hotel was great, from customer service to cleanliness. The hotel seems fairly new alongside a good location (across from Logan's). Hotel's like this are why I am a Platinum member. Spacious rooms and friendly staff are reasons why I plan to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyguy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to better serve our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in our area !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stay at the Holiday Inn Express when I visit my home town of Florence,AL. I use to stay at the Marriott, but learned that I enjoy Holiday Inn more. The staff is very polite and curtious. The rooms are easily accessible, comfortable, and clean; and the location is prime with easy commute to popular restaurants and shopping areas. I definitely recommend this hotel with confidence that others will enjoy their experience here, as I do.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAudio08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feed back from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Florence
89 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#4 of 11 in Florence
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Address: 180 Etta Gray St, Florence, AL 35630-9574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Florence, Alabama hotel's near the Tennessee River. The Holiday Inn Express® Florence Northeast Hotel is located in the northwest corner of Alabama, an area best known for its variety of outdoor activities. As you visit this friendly town, pause to enjoy the surrounding countryside, which includes the beautiful Tennessee River and Pickwick Lake. Business travelers lodging in Florence appreciate our on-site Business Center and 1,008-square-foot meeting room. We are close to many major businesses, including Wise Alloys, TNT Fireworks, TVA (Tennessee Valley Authority), Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Florence Industrial Park and North American Lighting. The University of North Alabama, Eliza Coffee Memorial Hospital and Helen Keller Hospital are located in Florence, Alabama. Our hotel's property is near the Tennessee River, which boasts excellent fishing, swimming and boating. After a busy day on the river, slow down and enjoy a leisurely game of golf at The Shoals, part of the popular Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The family can enjoy a visit to the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, as well as the Helen Keller House and WC Handy Birthplace & Museum. You can begin each day with a fantastic meal from our complimentary hot breakfast bar, and while lodging in Florence, our guests can also take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access we provide in each guest room. Our hotel also features an indoor pool and Fitness Center. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing