We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Florence Downtown
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

THis place is located downtown in a little corner. Not worth the money. Rooms are very small, and have to climb stairs to get to. Outdoor pool is in front of hotel, and not very nice. Staff is very nice, and helpful. Place is outdated, and rundown,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brightangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the City Lodge based on positive reviews on an online hotel booking site. The price is more than competitive and the location is downtown and close to most attractions in Florence.

The good: The front desk personnel were friendly, the room was relatively clean, and everything worked. Wi-fi and cable were offered. The old CRT TV worked just fine. Plus the aforementioned location and price.

The bad: Public areas were not clean and the bathroom would not pass the white glove test, although I've seen much worse. The furnishings and carpet were tired and the elevator moaned and groaned. The 'continental breakfast' was three dry cereal dispensers, a half-empty juice machine and a pot of coffee.

Overall, not bad. Not good. Average and worth the low price but not much more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldSalt558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms are small, but reasonably clean. The beds had a bit of a creak and if you wanted to swing a cat, best use a kitten, but the appliances all worked, the lock was secure, the heater was excellent, as was the water pressure. The front desk were so incredibly nice, and amazingly helpful- we had a few special requests and all of them were accommodated immediately, cheerfully, and with more assistance than was requested. They go over and above the basic service. The sunset view from the top floor is amazing. Breakfast was adequate; the usual hotel pastry/cereal/gently aged fruit sort of thing, but they made a point of getting the newspapers for us. Parking is a little challenging and I didn't feel completely secure parking in the lot- park close to the lobby to have an eye kept on your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside of the hotel- emergency vehicles and fire sirens pass all night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

The rooms was nasty and had a really bad odor. I guess you get what u pay for ):

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hendonberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I was checking in for a night and had the wost experience of my life. I caught 8 bedbuds and could not sleep the entire time.
The next day i told the lady at the reception about my experience and she was not willing to agree with me at all.

Room Tip: Donot check in 312 that is the one that had bedbugs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Anand U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for about a month while working in Florence. The staff is very friendly. It is a reasonable place to stay. There are probably more family friendly hotels around. It is a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamsullivan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The main reason for staying here is the price. All other hotels in town charge handsomely considering the size of the town.

The hotel itself is acceptable, if in need of a bit of investment. But if all you want is a clean bed, a clean bathroom and working Airco, then you'll be fine here.

It is within walking distance of the main street in downtown Florence, although you won't find a huge amount by way of dining or drinking options there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 12 in Florence
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 12 in Florence
96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sheffield
Radisson Hotel Sheffield
#1 of 1 in Sheffield
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Florence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Florence Downtown

Address: 400 S Court St, Florence, AL 35630-5614 (Formerly City Lodge - Florence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Florence Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Florence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing