We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dale's Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dale's Steakhouse
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the "old Dale's" several years ago and it was very good and somewhat reasonable. The new Dale's is a little too expensive($28 for two small pork chops and all sides were a la carte, i.e. nothing come with your meal, everything adds to the cost). The chops were no better than you could buy at any sidedown restaurant. Just too expensive for my taste. They made a mistake changing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have stayed the Same”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is not the same Dale's people have enjoyed for numerous years. Everything has been changed and they are no longer associated with the Dale's seasoning or anything from the original Dale's restaurant. The prices are ridiculous. Your entrée comes with a choice of soup or salad and then meat. You pay extra for a side. The food is edible but not great. I can spend less money and get better food and more food at a couple of other places in Florence. I hate they didn't stick with what made Dale's a mainstay in Florence for so many years. Sadly, it will be another mediocre place, but this one will have a high price tag for mediocracy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meherandonemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“THE best place to eat in a town without many great places to dine”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been to Dale's many times over the years and it remains unquestionably the best restaurant in the area. Northwest Alabama is not know for great restaurants - or great anything for that matter - but should you find yourself in this part of the country, do yourself a favor and dine at Dales. Their steaks - the tenderloin in particular - are melt-in-you-mouth good. The service has always been impeccable. For Florence, the prices will seem expensive. If, like me, you're living elsewhere, the prices are right in line with what you would expect from a steakhouse of similar class and quality. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Steak In Florence!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Look no further than Dales if you're craving a juicy steak. Have dined here several times over the years and it's always enjoyable. The service is awesome and the fact that some of these waiters have worked here for years says a lot. Love their ranch dressing and bread sticks. Their French soup is to die for. Steaks are always cooked to perfection and will melt in your mouth. The place is somewhat dark and with candlelights is quite romantic. I give em 5 out of 5 forks. Check em out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, yet very expensive.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well first off, the picture attached to this review is incorrect. The picture is of the 360 Grille at the Marriott in Florence. Other than that Dales is a great place to eat. It's a little hard to find, due to the location right off of O'Neal Bridge on the Florence side. The service is great, food is great, and the overall atmosphere of this establishment is relaxing. You'll also see why when they bring you your bill. Enjoy your food here, only if you have atleast $50. I would give this place a $5 if it weren't for the upcharge on the food, it's a tad bit too much for an upscale steak house in my opinion. If you're rich, COME ON TO DALES!

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dale's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing