We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B, one of the best we've stayed at ever.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Fayette B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is our 2nd time to visit this bed and breakfast and I have been blown away both times. We stayed in the Fredricksburg room this visit and it was roomy and nicely decorated and the big bathtub was relaxing. Breakfast was amazing, Mary really out does herself everytime. The Belgian Waffles are great but this time we had Praline French Toast and it was amazing and the blueberry muffin cake was so good. Ben and Mary are very nice and are some of the best innkeepers I've dealt with. Would definately stay here again and any time I am near Fayette.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmrunnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed from Sunday Night December 30th 2007 through Friday January 4th, 2008. Ben and Mary Hightower made our stay one of the best ever. The conversation was engaging, their hospitality was courteous and attentive but not hovering. The accommodations were clean, warm, and just like a old, warm, comfortable shoe. The breakfast fare is spectacular and very filling. The Belgian waffles are known throughout the state as being one of the "100 things you have to eat before you die" and they are truly that good. Ben and Mary truly make this B and B one of the best experiences in the south.
Ed and Kathy McClendon

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank McClendonofOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the Columbus Street Inn. The house was built in the 1800's. Our room was the Fredricksburg Room. The room had the old wide plank boards on the walls. The owners Mary and Ben were very nice and friendly. The best thing was the breakfast served on Mary's china. Fruit and Yogurt cup,Blueberry Muffin, French Toast Cassarole,Bacon and Stuffed Tomatoes with sour cream. It was wonderful.The town of Fayette is a slow little town. There is not that much to do. We toured the Train Depot Museum and 5 points Antique Shop. But really we only went for the Inn . And we were not disappointed. The price is only 60.00 a night and you get breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BJOYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbus Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Street Inn

Address: 1043 Columbus St W, Fayette, AL 35555-1828
Location: United States > Alabama > Fayette
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fayette
Price Range: $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Street Inn is the perfect setting for all your accommodation needs in Fayette Alabama. Columbus Street Inn is ideal for overnight and long-term business stays, quiet getaway weekends, lodging for family events and holidays, reunions, and just-like-home accommodations when "just passing through" the Fayette-Tuscaloosa-Columbus area. Ben and Mary Hightower are always "Waiting to Welcome You" to their historic 100 year-old home, making sure that Columbus Street Inn is just what you had in mind! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing