We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Check in Staff was friendly, outer appearance overall was nice, room had a musty and damp smell and feel. Since I was very tired I did a quick bed check and slept. Upon waking, room and furniture was dated, shower had mold on the upper walls and ceiling, big stains on the wall by the sink and mirror. I hung the "do not disturb" sign on the door since check out was noon, for a little extra sleep, 10:30am house keeping woke me to clean the room. Needless to say "Very DISAPPOINTED"! I was on the understanding this property had been renovated, I guess I expected more since it was a H.I.E.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesley6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear wesley6716,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fairhope, Alabama.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
79
50
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is a joke. I had issues checking in with a corporate credit card. The pool was neglected and dirty. The exterior doors to the building I was staying in were never locked. My room was not clean and all the bed linens were in need of replacing. The roof leaked. I will never under any circumstance stay here again. I wouldn't pay twenty dollars a night to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear 20879,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairhope.

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

I do hope that if your travel plans do bring you to the area in the future, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munford, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I spend 7 days in this hotel end of May to 2 June 2012. Wonderful hotel, hot breakfast each morning, couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Staff excellent.

Room Tip: We were put in the new section, very nice, very quiet..................loved our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was in Fairhope to attend a wedding & stayed two nights in this hotel. The rooms smelled, had not been cleaned properly, and were in bad need of updating. I would not stay there again. The staff we encountered was helpful & very courteous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear joypayne,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. I am glad you found our staff helpful and courteous. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. I apologize if we fell below your expectations on this day.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This Holiday Inn needs to be updated. The check in process went nicely and the two nights that we spent there, were very quiet. The problem came when we were ready to check out. It was raining, so my husband went to get the car and our luggage was near the door, unattended. After a long wait, I had to ask a housekeeper to locate someone to help me check out. Also, there was another person behind me, waiting to check out. I assume that it was the manager that appeared and says he's sorry that the receptionist was in the breakfast area. As a customer, I don't care to hear reasons as to why they are short of help, etc. Management should promply take over duties that are unable to be covered by another employee.

Room Tip: avoid staying near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Deeniegraytoncharm,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshallville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Needs some work. Elevator didn't work. needs updating.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My actual stay was on 4th of July weekend in 2010. We arrived around 9pm on Thursday night and check in was very quick and easy and the front desk clerk was very nice. The front desk clerk helped us find the closest access to the Mobile Bay and to a grocery store. The room was very clean and didn't have any problem with noise from the other guests. The free breakfast wasn't that great, we decided to walk across the parking lot and ate at Burger King. We didn't have a problem with the beds, maybe because we were tired of driving and spending the whole day Gulf Shores/ Orange Beach and house hunting. We don't usually spend very much time in hotels, I'm guessing people spend too much to find a lot to complain about. I would definitely stay at this hotel again especially for the price compared to places closer to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnb0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
149 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
18.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairhope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairhope

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
Address: 19751 Greeno Rd, Fairhope, AL 36532-3843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairhope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal breezes, small town charm and a sense of romance and serenity welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express® Fairhope - Point Clear. Surrounded by unique attractions, we're great for both business and leisure visits.For corporate travelers here to do business on the Eastern Shore, Point Clear and Fairhope, AL, our hotel's location is perfect. We're near a number of local businesses, including Segers Aerospace, Sunbelt Fire and Thomas Hospital. We feature a 1,700-sq-ft meeting facility and a state-of-the-art Business Center with print services.Leisure guests experience the ultimate vacation in Fairhope, AL. Our hotel's proximity to Mobile Bay provides easy access to Fairhope Pier and its amazing coastal beauty. The "Flowers of Fairhope" and one-of-a-kind art galleries are on display year-round. In addition, downtown Fairhope boasts many antique shops, memorable restaurants and unique retailers. It's also the site of many unique festivals and parades throughout the year, including Mardi Gras and Arts and Crafts Festival.Whether you're headed to Fairhope or Point Clear, AL, our hotel's amenities meet your needs. Our free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected to friends and colleagues. We also have a complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar that is sure to satisfy. Our 24-hour Fitness Center and outdoor pool add even more convenience to your vacation in Fairhope, AL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairhope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope Hotel Fairhope
Holiday Inn Fairhope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing