We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious! ”
Review of Original Ben's Jr

Original Ben's Jr
Ranked #1 of 3 Quick Bites in Fairhope
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Eat there weekly. Good people, good service, good food! I love the Swiss and Bacon Burger, and for an appetizer the potato skins can't be beat!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Chad36526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2017

Quiet local place that has some of the most amazing barbque. Friendly people, great food! the place is old and not some modern chain food place! Great atmosphere! Highly recommend it! Off the beaten path and worth it!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeffreya360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Four of us ordered two combo platters to share - ribs, chicken, beef, and pork, with coleslaw and onion rings. The ribs were burned, the chicken overcooked and dry, and the coleslaw had a watery, flavorless dressing. We all left wondering how this place could get such high ratings - perhaps it is the only bbq place around. None of us would ever return.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CandE_Brunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Well, tried this place because it was recommended by a friend. The service was bad. I had to go to the front to ask for dressing for my salad and a refill on my iced tea. The sweet tea is excellent! The man bussing and waiting tables was unfriendly and didn't seem concerned that I was out of tea. The onion rings tasted stale and not fresh, like cold fried food that was microwaved. The pork plate was okay but the baked beans were terrible. Large portions of bad food don't make this place worth it. The atmosphere is musty and dirty. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

The BBQ here is great. It looks like a hole in the wall but the food is amazing. The sweet tea is fixed just right. The food is always hot and fresh. The meat is tender and tasty. They have some great hamburgers and the fries and onion rings are just right. They always have a line when you can find them open and that is the only bad review I can give them is they aren't open enough.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Original Ben's Jr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing