We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tamales and chicken”
Review of Chappy's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chappy's
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Daphne, AL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great tamales and chicken”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'm local and wish the menu wasn't as limited. However, if fried chicken or homemade tamales is your thing, don't miss this spot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank terrterr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not so sure”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is now located in Foley Alabama on Hwy 59. Lunch for 4 was close to $60.00 thought that was a little high ! Service was HORRIBLE !!!!! Food was good ! Might give it a try but it will be a long while !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bad Service and the food was not that Great!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was hopeful as this was a highly rated restaurant a few months ago on Trip Advisor, but as recent reveiws have shown Chappy's has lost it's edge. I ordered the Special of The Day, Grouper with MardiGras vegetable medly, the vegtables arrived on the plate with so much water that the Grouper tasted like the water from the vegtables, the potato was luke warm and when I asked for Butter, the overworked but neverless inefficent waiter never got around to my request. We were going to stay for Desert, but decided to cut our losses and get out as soon as possible. There are MUCH better restaurants in Point Clear and Fairhope to go to before you sink to needing to try out Chappy's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramblinwreck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Despite some of the troubling online reviews, my wife and I gave Chappy's a try because of the excellent Restaurant.com certificates available. The food was so good that we went twice during our week stay at the Grand Hotel.

Try the Long Beach Trout, Red Snapper, Gumbo and Crab Bisque. Expect to pay $25 or so for the average entree.

Decor is very average. Maybe ten tables in one room with another area a little smaller that is designed for private parties. The main room also has a bar that might dominate the room with more than a few patrons enjoying themselves.

The service was good for both visits - a busy Sunday Brunch and then again on a quiet weeknight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good prices”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The place itself was very nice on the inside. If you show up in jeans and t-shirt, you almost feel overdressed, but they will not turn you away. The food arrived in a timely manner. It was all delicious. DO NOT skip on the crab cake appetizers, they are the best in the region. The only draw back we had with the place is the pricing was very expensive. For two people to eat with one appetizer, two entrees, and two soft drinks was $97 after tip. Also they virtually had no parking for building. We probably would not return here because the price of the food, but the quality and wait staff were all top notch and very acommedating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing