We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy”
Review of Key West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is really a motel off the main drag that runs through the town of Fairhope. However, do not let the location put you off. The room was clean, tidy, the shower was powerful and the bed's comfortable to sleep in. The inn may not have a bar and restaurant but there are lovely places to have a bite to eat in the older section of town so why hang around the motel, anyways? The taxi services here were great, friendly easy to arrange and prompt. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: There are two levels to the motel so if you are in any way uncomfortable with a ground floor room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
44
59
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is comparable to most other budget hotels; better than Motel 6 but not as nice as Holiday Inn. Nice staff, great location, and rates are hard to beat. Only negative was the bathroom door wouldn't stay closed (misaligned latch) so had to shove a towel under it to keep it shut. Overall a decent place to stay if all you need is an average room.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for a dog competition. When making my reservation, the clerk was quite helpful in honoring my request for a downstairs room. Upon arrival, the check-in was quick and the desk clerk was friendly.The room was clean and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and hair dryer. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I did not take advantage of it. The parking was plentiful; however, due to the configuration of the hotel and outside "patio" areas, there was limited availability to park outside of or close to my own room. This was the reason I had requested a room downstairs, to reduce the need to carry my belongings any significant distance. Additionally, I felt the pet fee, PER DOG as well as PER NIGHT, was excessive. Also of note, there is a bar right next door which can be loud at night and the patrons sometimes hang outside of the bar. Aside from these issues, this is an acceptable accommodation with a friendly staff and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idabob5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I couldn't believe how nice the staff was and how clean the place was. Even the parking lot was clean. Pool area was very clean and nice but it was too cold to swim. This was a surprisingly nice place for a small travel hotel. Rooms had nice mid-size fridge, a microwave and nice TV. Very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Needed a place to stop on our way east and found this stop on line. Good price, good stop. Room was comfortable and quiet and the staff was quite nice. Breakfast was minimal but good. Would stay here again if in the area. It was quite a way off of highway 10 and quite a slow drive. It was a little hard to find because it is set back quite far off the road but was worth the find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great little inn in a heartwarming town of bicycles and bakeries on Mobile Bay. Chose the Key West in because it was dog friendly but unlike most, not a hint of previous dogs anywhere in the room! How do they get it so clean? The beds are low ( good for limited mobility ) and the mattress very comfy. Furnishings are nothing fancy. Micro and fridge in the room. At the price, wish i could stay all week! The only downside is a high per day / per pet fee but it must cost to clean it so thoroughly. Cereal, bagel and juice breakfast included. Barry at the Front Desk was very friendly and helpful. My upstairs room was quiet all night. If you enjoy Fairhope or many other Southeast towns, why spend more? Quaint on the outside, clean on the inside...a delightful surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say that I was happily surprised. I've not stayed in a hotel/motell like this in years and I feel as if I've been spending too much money the last few years during trips.

It's not a five star hotel with lots of extras and a bar. It's a nice, clean hotel with great rates off a main highway.

We stayed here during a trip. I messed up the reservations for another hotel and this was our emergency fallback. It was not as close to the places we needed to be but the price was half of the other hotel. The rooms looked recently painted, the bathroom was clean and it looked as if a new tub had been put in. I saw no bugs, cobwebs or stains on carpet etc. The beds were fine, staff friendly and the price was more than affordable.

Amenities include a small pool which was very clean, free Wi-fi, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, ironing board/iron, on site washers and dryers if needed. Clean lobby with free pastry and sausage biscuit breakfast. Juice, coffee etc.

It was not the place we were supposed to stay but the savings made up for any disappointment. In addition - the small downtown area has an amazing number of shops and restaurants from cheap to very, very high-end. There is also a very nice marina with a restaurant, park and wharf that's perfect for sunset viewing over the bay and gulf. The hotel is located next door to several fast food places as well as a few larger chains and shopping. The down town area and beach front is about a five minute drive. And I suggest you drive because of a busy highway you would have to cross to get to the wharf/beach.

Room Tip: We asked for non-smoking and noticed that there were many rooms marked non-smoking as we walked to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefWhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
623 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Daphne/Mobile
15.0 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
440 reviews
9.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Property: Key West Inn
Address: 231 Greeno Rd S, Fairhope, AL 36532-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Inn - Fairhope offers the latest in hotel style and amenities to make your Fairhope vacation or business trip a success. Conveniently located on Hwy 98 South just 11 miles from I-10, you will find the hotel is close to everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Hotel Fairhope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing