We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid seafood restaurant”

Wintzell's Oyster House
Ranked #18 of 111 Restaurants in Fairhope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Solid seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First time hear. I had a fried platter for lunch. It was exactly what I expected, no frills, solid food. Inside is entertaining with all of the "wisdom" written on the walls. Our waitstaff was average. we had to go and find our waitress to get refills.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    106
    49
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumelle, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great family value lot of food on the kiddie basket. Waitress even offered the tip that you could get the market fish as a basket at half the cost. Inspirational quotes on all walls. Loved the one advising the wife that a husband was on,y right when he admitted when he was wrong.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Frank_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mostly fried food with VERY SLOW service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate there early on the night we got into town. Since we were staying at the Grand Hotel, this was one of the closest restaurants and we had heard good things about it. Although the restaurant is fairly large, there were only about 6 tables full when we sat down and ordered. It took more than 30 minutes to get our food and that was after asking one of the "managers" walking around what was taking so long. The gumbo was good and hot and the fried catfish I had was good, but the rest of the family's meals were only average. No way we would wait that long again for average at best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank auburn_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good food, very friendly waiter! We sat outside and although there were mosquitos they were not too bad. Would definitely eat here again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mercy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food, poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ashleigh, the hostess, took our reservation for 2. We went back outside to wait. We decided to sit at the bar inside so I told her that we would be there if she called our name. After several minutes, my fiance' went to ask where we were on the list to get a table. She told him there were 4 in front of us. He saw many empty tables while up. After several more minutes, I went to ask her where we were on the list and she said "The brown-haired girl called our name a while ago." I was furious because we had been waiting, asking, and paying attention. The manager just happened to be bartending while we were at the bar. He saw that we were ready to leave and seated us immediately. Our waitress Ashlee took good care of us and the food was excellent but we won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meme2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing