We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”

Wintzell's Oyster House
Ranked #17 of 111 Restaurants in Fairhope
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had never been to a Oyster House and we selected the Trigger Fish. It was dry and although it was a luncheon special, there just wasn't too much good about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarthaMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    113
    53
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood- family and group friendly”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had such a great experience we ate here twice. Reasonably priced with daily specials. Our waitress was so helpful with our travel weary toddler. Thanks Margie!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Oysters”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, I can't speak to everything on the menu, but the oysters are fantastic. The deck seating in the evening is wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirkdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Oysters Ever!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came in at 8pm and had 12 people with us. They took a moment to get us seated, but we were able to walk around and look at all the signs. Loved it. Then we received our appetizers- fried green beans and fried pickles, man they were good and the sauce must be their own stuff because it had a different but good taste. I had raw oysters and then a fish platter. The raw oysters were perfectly chilled and wonderful. The fish platter was great, I just got too full off all the other items!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyarb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Fantastic Low Country Boil!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I flew into Mobile from Boston and was very hungry. I looked for a seafood restaurant and several chains appeared but so didn't Wintzell's. The TripAdvisor reviews were pretty good so I pulled in. Glad I did!

The restaurant is very interesting, with lots of bumper sticker style slogans all over the walls and a nice open bar area where I was seated. The menu has all sorts of interesting items, many centered on oysters, and all reasonably priced (most way under $20). The Low Country Boil seemed interesting and it was. It consists of very large shrimp, sausage, potatoes and corn on the cob, ,all spiced up and cooked in a bag. The cooking spices really flavor the food and it isn't overwhelming. See the included photo. I don't include the after photo as it would show an empty bowl.

I noticed the table next to me getting some broiled oysters. They were enormous, about 6 inch long shells. I can't wait to come back and order those, probably tomorrow night.

One criticism, the floor wasn't perfectly clean. The area around the bar could use some sweeping and the tile floor was all cracked, not very appealing. I hope the kitchen is in better condition. However, this didn't ruin my overall dining experience which was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing