We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Clear Cottages
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Point Clear Cottages to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Mr. B and the girls were fantastic. The rooms were very clean, the sheets were ironed. The breakfasts were delicious. The cottages were very welcoming and relaxing. Enjoyed our time shopping in town, and eating dinner at local places. We will be back. We are so glad we stayed here, and made some great friends as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for the heart felt review. I am glad that you were able to venture downtown Fairhope to visit some of shops and restaurants. I would also like to thank you for choosing Point Clear Cottages. We look forward to your return.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 534 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just returned from a delightful stay at Point Clear Cottages in Fairhope. We slipped off from Pensacola for a couple of days to celebrate our 42nd Anniversary, and what a treat it was! Despite the very cold weather outside, Mr. Berglin's hospitality made for a very warm and welcome stay. The home and grounds are beautiful and no details have been left out. The pier seems to go on forever and at the end are rocking chairs to relax in. The house was decorated for Mardi Gras and "the girls," Joanie and Tabitha, do an excellant job of keeping everything beautiful. Breakfast was another treat of pecan waffles, crab omelets, fresh preserves, and the best scrambled eggs I have every eaten. Our host shared stories and books and made us feel very welcome. We will come again...and again....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praise8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We at Point Clear Cottages would like to take this time to thank you for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for fellow shipping on Sunday with Mr. B, it meant a lot to him. Please come back and visit with us.

Thank you for your kind review.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent delightful Fri. & Sat. night in the Cottage. We arrived in a misting rain, which made it that much cozier (we were able to get right in because Robert had called us about an hour out that we could go right in when we arrived). What a wonderful surprise! Every little detail was to perfection. I felt like the perspective son-in-law being courted by a cunning perspective mother-in-law. Robert was most accommodating to allow us to invite a friend of ours whom we had not seen for 15 years to breakfast (which seemed prepared especially for us by Tabitha & Joinie).
I wish we had discovered this place years ago. We usually go to Fairhope at least twice a year and have always stayed at the Grand. No more. Robert's place will be our first choice from now on.
Incidentally, we had dinner at the Wash House on Friday and Jesse's on Saturday. Both excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Podna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to learn of our memorable stay here at Point Clear Cottages. We look forward to your return.

Thank You
Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After reading such great reviews on Point Clear Cottages, we chose to stay at Point Clear Cottages instead of the Grand Hotel for our anniversary trip. We are so glad we did. The breakfast each morning was amazing. The breakfast is freshly made each morning. We had pecan waffles and bacon one morning. The second morning we had shrimp quiche, croissants, and breakfast potatoes. Of course breakfast includes coffee and orange juice. The table was beautiful each morning. We stayed in the Bayshore Cottage. The cottage was beautifully decorated and very cozy. The frig was stocked with ice cream, waters, milk, and juices. There was also coffee and a coffee pot in the room. The cottage has a great view of the Bay. There is a pier with rocking chairs and a hammock. The weather was too cold to enjoy those very much while we were there, but we did spend a little time on the pier. The owner is so accommodating. Beautiful location and cottage. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Fairhope.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Jennifer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We at Point Clear Cottages would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. I am sorry that the weather was not more cooperative but happy to learn that you did get to spend a little time on the Pier.

Thank you.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I love this place. Of all the great hotels we have ever stayed at, this is now by far our favorite. We could not have asked for better accommadations and service. The owner, Mr. Berglin was absolutely charming and the setting is unequaled. We have already booked the cottage for 2 more stays and hope to go back 3 to 4 times a year. It is a great value and only minutes from Fairhope, a quaint little town full of great restaurants like Dragonflys and the best wine bar ever... RED OR WHITE. Congrats to Mr. Berglin for creating the BEST B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: Loved the separate cottage, highly recommend if you do not like bed and breakfast atmosphere and pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouseofHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for the heart felt review. Downtown Fairhope is a lot like Point Clear Cottages, lots of different things to do and explore. I am delighted to learn that you will be returning again soon.

Thank you.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We just returned from a pre-Christmas/Birthday visit to Point Clear/Fair Hope and are very glad we stayed with "Mr.B" and his delightful staff, Joanie, Tabitha and Kaky. I've never seen such a clean house. We stayed in the main house and pretty much had it to ourselves. Although one day was a wash-out with rain, we spent a needed restful day in the enclosed porch with view of the bay, reading Mr. B's collection of cook books and watching a little TV. Breakfast was wonderful both days and Mr. B invited us to share his turkey from the fridge since we didn't get out that rainy day. It is a very comfortable home and the shower in the master suite is AWESOME. We had a little time to spend on the covered dock before the weather turned and know this would be a great place to hang out and rest in the hammock and watch the sunset. We highly recommend Point Clear Cottages!

Room Tip: All three choices would be great....all very clean and decorated. I'd probably chose the Bay Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We at Point Clear Cottages take pride in the appearance of our Property and the service we afford our Guest. I am sorry that mother nature was kinder with the weather, however, I am glad that you did get to spend some time on the Pier before the rain. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you for an awesome review.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at Point Clear Cottages. It was a wonderful choice. Beautiful
interior wood design in Bayshore cottage Very comfortable. Right on Mobile Bay, it was the perfect setting.
When I asked Robert the first morning at breakfast where there were some good fried oysters he asked if I would like some for breakfast the next morning. He would go pick them up that
day and have Jonnie fry them for me. Although I had never had fried oysters for breakfast, I said yes.The next morning oysters were indeed served and were thoroughly enjoyed. This was an
example of the lengths Robert goes to satisfy his guests.
Also, Jonnie and Tabitha were delightlful to get to know and visit with.
All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we will return at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobW835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing Point Clear Cottages for your stay. There is no request to big or small for our guest. We hope that you will come back and stay a little longer the next time.

Joannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
3.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
151 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fort Conde Inn
Fort Conde Inn
#3 of 65 in Mobile
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 65 in Mobile
484 reviews
19.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
365 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532-6832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range: $192 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Clear Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has King size bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Continental breakfast in room on Sundays. Cook is off on Sunday. No longer have hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Point Clear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing