We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Point Clear Cottages: A Little Slice of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Clear Cottages
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Point Clear Cottages: A Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There's really no other option in the Fairhope area when compared to Point Clear Cottages. The grounds are beautiful - luscious green grass, palm trees, ponds, magnolia trees, a pier stretching out into Mobile Bay, well groomed gardens....you're getting the idea. It's the ideal respite you're always daydreaming about.

Could this place get any better? The answer is an unequivocal YES! Mr. Robert Berglin is what sells this place. His meticulous attention to every detail make Point Clear Cottages the epitome of Southern Hospitality. He caters to your every need. He asked us the evening of our stay what kind of ice cream we liked...."We like Strawberry pretty good...." "Well, how about i get you Strawberry, some chocolate and vanilla. How's that sound?" He goes above and beyond to ensure you have the perfect stay.

When we arrived, we got to sit out on the pier in the rocking chairs with Mr. Robert and discuss the plans for our stay. We went over all the amenities of his property as well as the breakfast menu. He's a really interesting guy and doesn't mind just sitting and chatting with you.

A nap in the hammock is a must, so make sure you get that in.

For dinner, we didn't really want to leave the cottage for too long, so we ordered carry out from the Wash House and brought it back. The Bayshore Cottage has a small table inside which was perfect for my wife and I. I would definitely recommend the Wash House. Go with the Shrimp Stack with Fried Green Tomatoes as well as the Spring Rolls.

Breakfast the next morning was amazing as others have said on here as well. We met Mr. Robert's housekeepers and they were delightful as well. They're very personable and you could tell they really enjoyed working for "Mr. B", as they called him. We asked "Mr. Robert" to sit down and have breakfast with us and I would recommend that as well.

It's really not that hard to write a review about this place. The only hard part is that I know it's going to be tougher to get a reservation next time we come since so many people are discovering this Little Slice of Heaven.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Bayshore Cottage, it's closest to the water and the most private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Shane, I am very grateful for your review and the photo;s that you posted on trip advisor. I am glad that you and your wife enjoyed staying here and hope that you can stay longer next trip.
I look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
377
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
658 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

They are perfect and being perfect! 140 straight 5-stars and I am certainly not going to break that streak as we had a wonderful stay.
We were driving through the area, had heard about Fairhope and found these cottages on trip advisor.
The owner has just a couple of accomodations. We stayed out back near the water in what looks to be a converted carriage house or cottage as the title suggests.
Here are all the positives (and there are many):
It is a very big room.
It is incredibly clean and meticulously maintained.
It is modern with a very charming country feel.
There is a kitchenette with a fridge stocked with ice cream, juices, and cereal and milk.
The furnishings are perfect - tasteful rugs and furniture
The ammenities are great - lovely robes, lots of chocolates, etc. etc. - it feels like you keep coming upon a new gift.
There is a lovely private pier to go sit on and enjoy the bay.
Breakfast in the main house is very well put together - we had pecan waffles and bacon. Good company and good food.
$150 for a reasonable price for this stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your prompt review. I really appreciate it and am glad that you enjoyed staying here,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Robert and staff are great, with a wonderful breakfast every morning. Suggestions of other sites and restaurants in the area. Staff is friendly and ready to help;.We are looking forward to going again this summer.

Room Tip: The larger room did have ability to accommondate additional people, with a complete kitchen. Lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Debbie & Michael,
Thank you for staying at Point Clear Cottages on your honeymoon. I appreciate the nice review and look forward to your return trip in the summer. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Robert was great about adjusting our dates and met us when we arrived, even when we arrived late. The room was beautiful, well stocked and very private. We will certainly return again to Point Clear Cottages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting Point Clear Cottage and making the nice review. Please come again in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first trip to Fairhope and my husband's second trip. We both truly enjoyed our first stay at Point Clear Cottages and highly recommend this place to anyone young, middle aged or old. The Cottage is located on the bay and my husband and I just loved every minute there. The Cottage is so homey and the setting is absolutely beautiful. Mr. Robert made our visit perfect. We had the most delicious breakfast each day prepared by Mr. Joe. Both Mr. Robert and Mr. Joe were so warm and gracious. The surroundings were georgeous and as far as we are concerned, this is the "best deal in town!" We will definitely be returning to Fairhope in the near future and look foward to our next visit at Point Clear Cottages. Again, many thanks to Mr. Robert and Mr. Joe for making this a very relaxing and enjoyable trip!

Room Tip: Point Clear Cottages is by far a "home away from home" with the best hostess in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Peggy, Thank you for the great review of your stay. Also, thank you for the 2 books that your sent me. I have really enjoyed reading them and will put them in the cottage for future guest to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our first stay at Point Clear Cottages. Everything was beautiful and well thought out. Mr. Robert gave us great suggestions of places to visit. The entire staff was pleasant and breakfasts were deliciously southern. We plan to return to the Bay Shore Cottage!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay in November. I hope that you will return in the future. I have a new housekeeper-cook, Joann's daughter, Joannie and she takes great pride in her work as I do. I want everyone who stays here to have a memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarburg, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Fairhope Alabama is a beautful town on the gulf coast. Really worth a visit. On the lower part of the town (near the ocean) are also situated a few motels/cottages. I think Mr. Roberts place is one of the best opportunities to get a real Alabama feeling.
I was staying in the cottage and I've loved it. I would also choose this place on my next visit.

Room Tip: The cottage is near the ocean and separate from the main building
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBerglin, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Rolf, Thank you for staying at Point Clear Cottages and your review. I hope that you enjoy your trip of the USA and will come again. Have a good trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
605 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
3.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
11.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
15.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Property: Point Clear Cottages
Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532-6832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has King size bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Breakfast at Two Sisters Bakery nearby on Sundays. Cook is off on Sunday. No longer have hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Point Clear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing