We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Clear Cottages
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bryant, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bed and breakfast !”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had at Mr. Berglin's cottage. The town of Fairhope is beautiful and the stay was very enjoyable. We stopped here for one night on our way to the beach. This will become a habit for us and would also be a very nice spring trip destination. We were served up maybe the best shrimp and grits on the planet ! The tempurpedic adjustable bed was a nice surprise and the grounds are just immaculate. We will definitely be back.

Thank you Mr Berglin !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
383
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Mr. Berglin went above and beyond the call of duty and the rate was rock-bottom. If anything, you'll feel too pampered. We stayed in the cottage for our honeymoon and it was the perfect place. A nice, cozy little cottage with a hot tub, every amenity, and a free breakfast you'll write home about almost every day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The owner now rents out the master bedroom in his house. This is where we stayed the two nights before Father's Day because the Cottage was reserved. This was a trade-off: all the benefits of "having the run of the house" including ice cream in the freezer versus reduced privacy. However, we enjoyed talking and interacting with Robert and his staff including Joanne, the "Kitchen Machine". Saturday breakfast included delicious crab omelets, homemade biscuits, fresh fruit and an excellent homemade bread pudding with bourbon sauce. Sunday morning was a little easier on the body with fresh fruit, orange juice and homemade blueberry muffins of which Robert was justifiably proud. As noted in previous reviews and confirmed by our experience, Robert and his staff are extremely accommodating and serve as superb hosts. Also, the pier on the bay is a terrific spot for having a cup of coffee in the morning, watching the sunset in the evening and viewing the coastal wildlife (on Sunday morning we observed an alligator cruise past the end of the pier). If you want to party hearty this is probably not the place for you; if you want to relax in a quiet, peaceful setting and be pampered at the same time, you can't go wrong here. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and family and while we don't travel to Fairhope very often, it will be at the top of our list when we return.

Room Tip: Primarily because of privacy the Cottage would be the top choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Robert Berglin at Point Clear Cottages is so nice and accomodating! He really goes out of his way to make sure you have a wonderful trip. It's the little things he does that really go a long way (candies by your bed, ice cream, amazing bread pudding, shrimp and grits for breakfast and a very nice staff). We will be glad to go back. He has a beautiful place (very clean) and well kept. The grounds are gorgeous and the pier and hot tub are all well maintained. He is located right in the middle of all there is to do in Fairhope/Point Clear. Great location and great people! Give this a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnamon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachicola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We called at the last minute and Mr. Berglin went out of his way to make us comfortable. We stayed in the main house and it was beautiful. After a long day of antiquing we relaxed at the end of the deck in hammocks and then out for dinner at a lovely resturant recommended by Mr. Berglin. Finished our stay with a superb breakfast of homade bisquets and crab meat omlettes. So So delicious. Completely lovely accommodations and wonderful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Point Clear Cottages was amazing. It was everything we expected and more! It truly is an absolutely beautiful place, all to yourself. The view, convenience, and hospitality were just a few things that were incredible. One of our favorite things was the location. We had the choice of being completely secluded and to ourselves, either in our cottage or out on the dock, or if we wanted we could very easily leave and drive into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is great. Waaaay better than a hotel and for a better price too!
Clean, cozy, fully equiped. There is even ice cream in the freezer!!!!!!!
Look no further, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EN_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
3.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
15.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Property: Point Clear Cottages
Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532-6832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has King size bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Continental breakfast in room on Sundays. Cook is off on Sunday. No longer have hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Point Clear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing