We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairhope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good vibes”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Becky & Bill Jones run a very pleasant and interesting place in Fairhope, on the eastern edge of Mobile Bay. We stayed in a garden room, because we were looking for more privacy than is usually found in rooms which a part of the main house. But, because of the set up of the house, all rooms seem to provide a reasonable amount of privacy. It's more than a place to sleep & eat. There are ducks & geese to feed, lots of cats, bikes to ride, and a long pier where you can watch the sunset & pelicans (and eat a great breakfast). Bring some fishing gear & take advantage of the lights on the end of the pier, which attract bugs...which attract fish...which attract fishermen, as Becky explained. Lots of ice cream and soft drinks in the 'fridge for anytime you want. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    7
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
92
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Bay Breeze. We were surrounded by beautiful gardens, a perfect view of the Bay, and a pier that is just a few easy steps from the house. Not only were the breakfasts delicious but there were beautifully served. The house has many comfortable places to sit and read or just look out over the bay. Shops and restaurants are very close. Wintzells, the seafood restaurant directly across the street, is wonderful. There is an ice cream parlor right down the street. My husband and I both came away thinking it was the most relaxing place we have ever gone and are looking forward to going back in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iuka, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've traveled for a living for about 35 years and usually avoid Bed & Breakfast situations. But Becky and Bill's place is different from most. I come here every chance I get. There is privacy, but you feel almost as if the hosts are your favorite kin. Fairhope is a lovely, exiciting town, but you really don't want to leave Bay Breeze. Every touch -- in the gardens, in the home, in the cabins -- is perfect, not over-wrought or fussy but interesting and lovely. There will always be some nit-picking detractors -- even Camelot had its attackers -- but if you don't find this place inviting, I probably don't want to know you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rheta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The gardens are beautiful. The rooms clean. The views are excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed. Exceptionally well organized. Perfect hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.. A lovely home on Mobile Bay you'd truly love to have yourself. You get the run of the common areas which are well appointed. You can just sit there listening to music, or reading, or watching a perfect sunset -- or all three. One of the most relaxing places you'll ever find. Breakfast is a delicious and different treat everyday.

Room Tip: Camellia Room is large, very comfortable, and connected to the house. If you want a kitchen, try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanantonio_TXAlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Be advised that this is not somewhere to stop if you're just passing through. There is a two day minimum to book a cottage. I tried to explain that I was looking for a nice place for me and my fiance to spend our wedding night but it didn't make a difference. They were not willing to negotiate and I believe that's bad business especially under the circumstances. By the way you only get one chance at your wedding night and they weren't helpful at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayBreeze251, Owner at Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2017
July 12,2017 - - - looking back many years, this is still one of our favorite unfavorable comments. Hope this couple is still happily married and has 5 or 6 kids !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

What an exquisite place to stay. So full of charm, serenity, and character. The house is a home that embraces you with warmth, beauty and plenty of objects to entertain. The garden, bay side beach, and pier are inviting and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious. Becky served us fruit salad for starters followed by Eggs Madeline, crumpets, and sausage. There was plenty of fresh coffee and orange juice. We enjoyed our breakfast companions and Becky joined in the discussion with many delightful tales of her own.

The suites are spacious and tastefully adorned. The bed was very comfortable. I can't say enough great things about the place and Miss Becky herself. She's a character that adds to the unique and enticing things about Bay Breeze. It's a great place to relax, rejuvenate, and if you are a writer, to get some work done! I accomplished more in a day than I normally do in a week. A great getaway from all the distractions of life. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We didn't see all the rooms, but I can't imagine there being a bad room. We stayed in the Az...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
2.2 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
149 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Daphne/Mobile
14.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Address: 742 S Mobile St, Fairhope, AL 36532-1115 (Formerly Church Street Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bay front stucco home was built in the early 1930's and has been lovingly restored, remodeled and enlarged through the years to hold family heirlooms and period antiques which date back five generations. Wicker, stained glass, hooked and oriental rugs abound in every room. Everything from a mantel to a sofa or silk tie quilt has a very special story. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Fairhope
Bay Breeze Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing