We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish were back at Bay Breeze”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairhope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish were back at Bay Breeze”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We only returned home last night and already wish we were back at the Bay Breeze. What an enchanting place! Becky and Bill, the owners, seemed like old friends. My wife and I enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts, sitting on the pier watching the sunsets and storms in the distance. The cottage was charming, as well as the main house which was given over to the guests any time day or night for drinks or ice cream. The hosts were entertained us with their knowledge of Fair Hope and stories of the town's legends. We will return to Bay Breeze the first chance we get -- we couldn't have spent our time away from St. Louis at a better place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchieStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
90
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Azalea Room in the Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast was the nicest room and place we have ever stayed in. Becky & Bill (the owners) were the neatest people. The place was clean, well equiped and we got checked in with no problem. The directions that were given to us was clear and correct. The pier and the breakfasts were out of this world. What a nice way to spend the weekend and we can't wait to do it again. Certainly a 11 out of 10!
Delorus & Kenny Cochran
June 2011

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-Ken-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

As a "road warrior" who spends way too much time in hotels, I was looking for something a little more comfortable, personable, an "homey" when I walked in and asked Becky if she had any vacancies...as I did not have a reservation. I was given the Azalea Room, which is really a 3-room suite. Cool, quiet, comfortable, and full of a lifetime of history. Loved reading the history of the family and seeing all the pictures. I have no idea what the negative reviewer was talking about earlier, as there was absolutely no "odor" or smell...very clean, full queen bed, tastefully furnished and decorated. The yards, flowers, pets (cats, dogs, ducks, geese) made me feel like I was at one with nature and living! The dock, bay breezes, and relaxation was everything and more than I was needing to unwind. I will definitely be back...thanks Bill and Becky for giving me a wonderful break from the standard hotel room!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We are delighted to say that we,too, ignored the negative review and booked a long holiday weekend at the Bay Breeze. We had a wonderful, relaxing time and found Becky and Bill, who are Fairhope natives, to be gracious as well as interesting. They had great recommendations for dining and activities in the area. The atmosphere was relaxing, the gardens were lovely and the cottage we stayed in was comfortable and charming. We enjoyed browsing over the antiques and books in the house, relaxing in the gardens and sitting on the pier in the evening chatting with our hosts and other guests as we watched the sun set over the bay. Free entertainment does include watching the interaction of their Shih Tzus, cats and geese! We enjoyed a bike ride to the Marriott resort and a nearby confederate cemetery as well as shopping in the charming town of Fairhope.The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts are thoughtful enough to provide a cookbook of their recipes. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camellia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My wife and I like to visit Fairhope at least once a year because of its setting on Mobile Bay and the charm of the town and its art community. There is a hint of Carmel, CA without all the touristy stuff. The Bay Breeze is also very charming, and a bit eclectic.. The rooms and common areas are neat and organized. The property is well maintained. Its lake shore is relatively narrow but long with a very long dock extending out into Mobile Bay. The grounds are very nicely landscaped with ferns, flowers and a small pond. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is in a small cottage. The breakfasts are to die for. You will not find better at any other B&B in the US. The lady of the house is a wonderful cook. She serves fabulous dishes. Breakfast is worth the stay by itself. Yes, the owner is a retired school teacher and is given to posting small signs with instructions. Its something to read while sitting on the "throne". The rooms are fine and as shown on their website, The furniture might be a little dated but its all part of the charm of a bay cottage. There are some pets on the premises including cats and if you have allergies to cats then you might want to be careful where you sit. Go out on the pier and watch the sunsets, the jumping fish and cruising dolphins with a glass of wine or a cold drink from the ref that's out on the pier. Downtown Fairhope is only a couple of miles north and the Marriott Grand Hotel a couple of miles south on the bay with its dining rooms and golf course. I'm rating it a 4 and a half only because i rarely rate anyone a 5. Its very good plus.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank damare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We're so glad that we ignored the bad review. We would have missed one of the most delightful B&B's we've encountered on our many trips. The whole place was beautiful, restful and enchanting. We worked our way from the pier to the outdoor porch to several indoor seating areas with books and newspapers. Owners, Becky & Bill, were gracious hosts, and the breakfasts were delicious. After a three mile walk, we came back to enjoy our favorite ice cream from a freezer full of choices. We don't know where the complainers were accustomed to staying, but we came to Bay Breeze from the Battle House Hotel in Mobile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Couldn't find the place at first. Asked FIVE locals if they knew where it was.... they had never heard of it! That was our first red flag.

Arrived to find a place that looked nothing like the pictures or described by the person we talked to on the phone. The place was EMPTY. Second red flag.

Walked around grounds, went inside and walked around for about 10 minutes. No one was around to greet us.... we almost left until we were met by someone who said the owner had left... She pointed out the refrigerator that had ice cream and soft drinks and asked if we needed anything else. We told her that we would like to see our room. "Oh" she said....

The room that was supposedly a 'suite', had a smaller than full/standard (we were told it was a queen size). The room smelled of mold or mildew. ( I have bad allergies)

We were so disappointed. We told her that we really couldn't stay here. There was no way that my very tall husband and I were going to sleep comfortably in that bed or with that smell.

We apologized, left and easily found a place to stay.

We were later called by the owner, who told us that this was the Arts Festival weekend and she would never be able to recoup the money she 'lost' by us leaving. She charged us for one night. (171.72) She posts a 72 hour cancellation notice on her site... but, how would we have known that what we saw on the internet was so poorly represented?

And, the Arts Festival was the following weekend....

Lesson learned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank atc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
2.2 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
9.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Daphne/Mobile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Address: 742 S Mobile St, Fairhope, AL 36532-1115 (Formerly Church Street Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bay front stucco home was built in the early 1930's and has been lovingly restored, remodeled and enlarged through the years to hold family heirlooms and period antiques which date back five generations. Wicker, stained glass, hooked and oriental rugs abound in every room. Everything from a mantel to a sofa or silk tie quilt has a very special story. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Fairhope
Bay Breeze Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing