We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairhope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Calm and Relaxing”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My wife and I like to visit Fairhope at least once a year because of its setting on Mobile Bay and the charm of the town and its art community. There is a hint of Carmel, CA without all the touristy stuff. The Bay Breeze is also very charming, and a bit eclectic.. The rooms and common areas are neat and organized. The property is well maintained. Its lake shore is relatively narrow but long with a very long dock extending out into Mobile Bay. The grounds are very nicely landscaped with ferns, flowers and a small pond. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is in a small cottage. The breakfasts are to die for. You will not find better at any other B&B in the US. The lady of the house is a wonderful cook. She serves fabulous dishes. Breakfast is worth the stay by itself. Yes, the owner is a retired school teacher and is given to posting small signs with instructions. Its something to read while sitting on the "throne". The rooms are fine and as shown on their website, The furniture might be a little dated but its all part of the charm of a bay cottage. There are some pets on the premises including cats and if you have allergies to cats then you might want to be careful where you sit. Go out on the pier and watch the sunsets, the jumping fish and cruising dolphins with a glass of wine or a cold drink from the ref that's out on the pier. Downtown Fairhope is only a couple of miles north and the Marriott Grand Hotel a couple of miles south on the bay with its dining rooms and golf course. I'm rating it a 4 and a half only because i rarely rate anyone a 5. Its very good plus.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank damare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
90
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We're so glad that we ignored the bad review. We would have missed one of the most delightful B&B's we've encountered on our many trips. The whole place was beautiful, restful and enchanting. We worked our way from the pier to the outdoor porch to several indoor seating areas with books and newspapers. Owners, Becky & Bill, were gracious hosts, and the breakfasts were delicious. After a three mile walk, we came back to enjoy our favorite ice cream from a freezer full of choices. We don't know where the complainers were accustomed to staying, but we came to Bay Breeze from the Battle House Hotel in Mobile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Couldn't find the place at first. Asked FIVE locals if they knew where it was.... they had never heard of it! That was our first red flag.

Arrived to find a place that looked nothing like the pictures or described by the person we talked to on the phone. The place was EMPTY. Second red flag.

Walked around grounds, went inside and walked around for about 10 minutes. No one was around to greet us.... we almost left until we were met by someone who said the owner had left... She pointed out the refrigerator that had ice cream and soft drinks and asked if we needed anything else. We told her that we would like to see our room. "Oh" she said....

The room that was supposedly a 'suite', had a smaller than full/standard (we were told it was a queen size). The room smelled of mold or mildew. ( I have bad allergies)

We were so disappointed. We told her that we really couldn't stay here. There was no way that my very tall husband and I were going to sleep comfortably in that bed or with that smell.

We apologized, left and easily found a place to stay.

We were later called by the owner, who told us that this was the Arts Festival weekend and she would never be able to recoup the money she 'lost' by us leaving. She charged us for one night. (171.72) She posts a 72 hour cancellation notice on her site... but, how would we have known that what we saw on the internet was so poorly represented?

And, the Arts Festival was the following weekend....

Lesson learned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank atc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

It's been more than 10 years since we last stayed at Bay Breeze, but the high standards it had then....it still has! Becky and Bill Jones are still the uber congenial hosts of this homey B&B fronting on the eastern shore of Mobile Bay. Despite a hurricane several years ago, the grounds are again botanically lush with the 300' pier out into the bay having been rebuilt.

As a test after so many years I wondered if the complimentary-access-to-the-Jone's- freezer-for-ice-cream-policy was still in effect. It was. I had a huge bowl of butter pecan.

To work off those calories, the next morning I walked into town ending up on the far end of the municipal pier (almost two miles one way). Despite being located in a sort of back woods area, there was a sidewalk along the entire route making Fairhope one of the most walker-friendly spots I've visited.

Put those calories right back in my mouth just a bit later with a delicious breakfast that included fantastic sweet potato pancakes. Whodathunkit?

We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Our cabin was clean and quiet. It was actually a mini-suite with a kitchenette. The cabin was comfortable and well furnished.

Got questions? Don’t worry. They will all be answered by the numerous signs throughout the cabin, including the one above the toilet paper outlining the precise parking instructions.

No need to set an alarm clock. The builders of the cabin thoughtfully placed a skylight directly above the head of the bed. The cheerful Alabama sun will wake you up BRIGHT and early.

Breakfast is an intimate affair. The menu is fixed and ‘adventurous’. At the crack of 8:30 you are seated elbow-to-elbow with your fellow guests. Introductions are made and a prayer is offered. Then your new BFF’s will regale you with tale after tale of their wonderful children. It is NOT for the hung-over.

The grounds are nicely landscaped. There are many nooks and crannies on the grounds, and in the main house, for reading or lounging.

Bay Breeze is directly on Mobile Bay. (In certain circles, this area of Alabama is known as the ‘East Coast’.) The sunsets are spectacular. After dark, the lights of Mobile (and the less fortunate folks on the West Coast) shimmer on the Bay. And, of course, stars occasionally fall on Alabama.

Although the beach is narrow (perhaps 70 ft from property line to property line), the pier is long. It has many areas to sit, relax and enjoy the tranquility. The pelicans swoop and the mullets jump.

The staff is polite, informative, and non-intrusive.

Soft drinks, coffee and ice cream are available 24 hours per day. You gotta love that.

Will we go back? Absolutely, but we’ll bring our own breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dangerkitty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We and another couple stayed 3 nights. You immediately feel welcome by Becky and Bill. Each of the three breakfasts were absolutely wonderful and she accommodated one person in our party who is allergic to cheese and eggs. She sets a beautiful table, has lots of recommendations and gives interesting tidbits about the town. We had the Camellia Room and the other couple, the Azalea Room. Although a bit dated, it is clean, filled with antiques and very cozy. We moved on to the Magnolia Springs B&B, and the difference is the hosts---you felt so welcomed and relaxed at Bay Breeze. Their home sits on Mobile Bay and you can walk to the pier and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Nalani-Kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We had a great stay at this Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was like a full apartment, with bedroom, pull out sofa, and comfortable bathroom. The place was immaculately clean and well kept up. The hosts were lovely and had no problem with my bringing my dog, who loved sniffing around the property. We loved walking down the dock and looking out at Mobile Bay. The breakfast was delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank tripleklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
2.2 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
9.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Daphne/Mobile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Address: 742 S Mobile St, Fairhope, AL 36532-1115 (Formerly Church Street Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bay front stucco home was built in the early 1930's and has been lovingly restored, remodeled and enlarged through the years to hold family heirlooms and period antiques which date back five generations. Wicker, stained glass, hooked and oriental rugs abound in every room. Everything from a mantel to a sofa or silk tie quilt has a very special story. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Fairhope
Bay Breeze Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing