We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Lakepoint Resort State Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Eufaula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anniston,AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my 2nd time staying here, 1st time in a 1 bedroom lakeside cottage.This time we were in town to attend a wedding in Westpoint Georgia. Accomodations were nice - few people during Easter weekend. Bed was comfy - brought my own pillows. Once I figured out the shower, got a good, long hot one. Does provide a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. But you will need to bring (or get) filters, coffee, sugar, cream - non provided. Wireless worked great, but would have been nice to have instructions to work the TV, with channel guide. Check in was a breeze, and the people were nice and friendly. We decided to try the Friday night Seafood Buffet at the Lodge for our first night - MISTAKE! Service was terrible, and the food was nothing more than warmed up frozen food, and bagged lettuce for the salad bar. Nothing fresh, and everything over processed, and over seasoned. It was terrible, and we drove into Eufaula the next morning and found a Waffle House to eat breakfast. Luckily, the rehearsal dinner was at Tommy's Restaurant, and I can only say, it looks like a dive, but it has the best service, and the BEST seafood to be found! We actually got fried catfish fingerlings - perfectly seasoned and cooked. If you are looking for a weekend of fishing, this would be too perfect, and the cabins do provide grills to cook your catch. I love this place, and am amazed it is state owned and run so well. I have never stayed at the lodge, but have stayed at a 2 bedroom lakeside, and it was just as nice, and very spacious for the 8 people staying there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Redhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    41
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The food was very delicious and the atmosphere was great and the view is awesome! Our waitress was so nice and very helpful and had a "genuine smile" and we are going back Sunday for the Easter dinner that they are serving. We will be going here to eat often. I love this restaurant! I love their food! Very satisfied!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouncy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, AL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We wanted a relatively cheap weekend getaway, so we made reservations for what we hoped would be a quiet, off season stay. We came in Friday evening and left Sunday. When we arrived, there was a wedding going on in some of the ballrooms. And dozens of people were coming in for the restaurant.
Let me first say that the signage once you leave 431 sucks. Try not to arrive after dark and do not depend on a gps. The desk clerk agreed with this assessment.
The big draw for dinner was the Friday night seafood buffet. The restaurant was full of locals and lots of family reunion groups. The service was poor at best. The food was mostly fried and overcooked. That was unfortunate.
However, we stopped at the bar on our way to our room and asked if we could buy a bottle of wine to take back to the room rather than driving into town, and he gave us a bottle for $12.95. And offered to open it for us. Service with a smile:)
Then, we finally went to see our room. It was located in the building across from the lobby, on the first floor in an inside corner. (Room #130). Tons of space. A foyer to remove the bed area from any outside noise. A wetbar/ fridge/coffee area. Then a large bedroom with 2 queen beds, a tv/dresser, a good sized desk, an arm chair and a table and chairs. There was also a huge closet in the foyer. The bathroom has a sink area with plenty of counter space and another large closet. A separate room has the bath tub and a toilet. Everything is nicely done in ceramic tile. Very impressed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southern comfort”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Everything was amazingly easy, accessable and convient especially since Lakepoint did not exist while I was growing up in the erea.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Improvements everywhere”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This state park has gone through a major renovation since the last of the Katrina refugees vacated the park. The camp sites are level, shaded, and the pavement is in good repair. The roads into this area are still a work in progress but posed no real problems with a tow vehicle and loaded trailer.

The swimming pool at the resort is free to all campers and was opened this year. This salt water pool is well maintained and the staff is friendly. We camped three days during the memorial day weekend and the bathrooms and showers stayed relatively clean despite the large numbers of campers in the park.

If you are looking for a safe place for camping with your young children, try this park in the Barbour Loop portion. We will be back here very soon.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AuTravelAuburn_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakepoint Resort State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lakepoint Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing