We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great price for a very good hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The reservation was made online and I did not expect much for the price, It was located exactly where we needed it, I am sure they did that just for me:-). I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The room was spacious and everything worked. The Bar area offered a free bufet while you had a drink or two. I was on the backside which was quite even though close to the rad. Breakfast was a free buffet, nice. eggs and pork grits.

Room Tip: the internet price is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VideoCreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave feedback regarding our property to your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Your remarks are some of our favorite to hear, as there is nothing more gratifying than hearing we not only met, but exceeding your expectations during your stay. Our staff's goal is to supply the best service possible to each guest everyday and your comments serve as wonderful encouragement for our staff. We hope that you will continue to visit us when your in the area so that we are able to supply to you the most hospitable accommodations in Dothan.
Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    37
    27
    25
See reviews for
62
60
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midland City, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed here some time ago when it was part of the Holiday Inn system. The General Manager Derick & his staff were superb. I would not stay with Holiday Inn anymore so I am glad it was the Clarion & would stay with them. However, what made this hotel for an extended stay was not Holiday Inn, it was Derick & his staff. The Kitchen staff was also fantastic & accommodating. Derick always went out of his way to be helpful, informative, sincere, & friendly. That is something that is hard to come by these days. I never visited the bar or the pool because I was working 7 days a week, 16-20 hours a day so I cannot comment on that. Maintenance also did an excellent job of taking care of things. The hotel was a reasonable & fair priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
David C,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding our property. We pride ourselves on being able to adequately staff our property with people who are pushing for the highest level of customer service and accommodations possible so that all our guests leave feeling as satisfied as you have on your previous stays. I have forwarded your positive comments to all our staff here to serve as encouragement to continue to show up to work each day with a smile and helpful attitude to ensure our guests leave happy and with a positive memory of their stay.

Best Regards Until You Return,

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Once upon a time when you booked a Clarion you were getting a room upscale from Comfort Suites. If this Clarion is any indication it is now a down market hotel. I would not recommend staying here on a weekend because this is a party location and has a large bar that allows smoking which is quite lively on the weekends. Might be ok during the week but stay somewhere else on the weekend if you are traveling and need a good nights rest. We were up often throughout the night. I do need to point out that the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was priced correctly for what is but just don't expect what Clarion used to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Ricky768,

Let me begin by thanking your for your feedback regarding our hotel as it is the only way we are able to improve as a property. I do apologize that you found some aspects of our property not to your liking, but we do not promote ourselves as a "party location". You are correct that we are a full service property that includes a lounge area that does allow smoking. We apologize that you had any inconveniences while you stayed and urge any guests who have any issues during their stays to follow up with the front desk so that the manager on duty can reconcile any issues immediately so that you may enjoy a peaceful stay at our property. I am pleased to know that our staff was pleasant and helpful during your stay and again apologize that you felt your stay was less than satisfactory. We will address your comments and make the appropriate adjustments necessary to ensure all of our guests are happy and content upon departure.

Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The motel was clean, modern, the staff friendly, a restaurant on premises. The hot breakfast was excellent. The only negative was that the bath could use some up dating. Motel is next to a grocery store, micro wave and refrigerator in the unit. We were their to visits friend on near by army base. Free internet, plus a couple of computers in the lobby........................ Review has to be 200 characters, what more can I say? This is a good place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Beth,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to post a review regarding our property to TripAdvisor. It is always nice to receive kind words about a recent stay as it is a very accurate gauge of how well we are preforming as a staff at our hotel. It is always our goal to go above and beyond to extend all courtesies possible to our guests and I am so please to hear that Jacob, the night clerk, was able to schedule you a taxi and recommend a wonderful restaurant for ya'll to dine. My staff joins me in welcoming you back next time you are in town to visit friends and hopes you will choose to stay with us again when you return.

Best Regards,

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catoosa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hotel! They had a New Years eve celebration that was a blast. Plenty of waitresses and very friendly staff. We could tell that the hotel manager truly wanted his guests to be happy. It did get a little smoky in the bar...A smoke eater or opening a door would have helped. But, the place was packed so it was to be expected. The room was clean and the towels were nice and fluffy. The bed could stand to be replaced but it was ok. Breakfast was very good. Every single staff member greeted us with a smile. Would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Cammy A,

Thank you for taking the time to post to our TripAdvisor page. It is our goal to provide an amazing stay with the friendliest, most accommodating staff and property available. I've passed your comments regarding the bed and smoke eaters to our housekeeping and maintenance staff to push to see if there is any way we can better improve these two items. However, like you stated, we were very busy that evening and the extra smoke may have been accounted for by the large crowd, but it does not hurt to check! We hope you will come back and spend time with us next time your in Dothan as we also have Karaoke contests, live bands, and DJ's on a regular basis and great room prices. Hope your holiday season was amazing and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
(334)794-8711
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I had already written a review about this hotel from previous stays, but now I must write something totally different. My husband and I have stayed several times at this hotel on our way to Orlando Fl. We always thought that for one night stay the hotel was good enough. We went back to Orlando a week ago and we stayed at the Clarion again but we were very disappointed. The room didn't seem clean enough and of course we disliked a lot the fact that that night we killed three cockroaches in our room!!. I couldn't believe my eyes!!!. On the way back from Orlando yesterday we gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt and spent the night there last night, but as incredible as it may seem we killed three more cockroaches in our room!!. I had a hard time falling asleep thinking that a roach might climb on my face.
Also the hotel needs a lot of TLC. The bathroom door in our bedroom did not close and the bathroom itself needs some updating.
Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The hotel is very well located, they should do a little maintenance to it. It deserves it.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get roaches in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Mikafe,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a second survey on your trip here to our hotel. I want to apologize for falling below your expectations, as this is something we take very seriously here at our property. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your stay. I have expressed your remarks to both my chief maintenance personnel, as well as, our contracted pest control company to ensure this issue is immediately taken care of. Your comments have not fallen on deaf ears and will be addressed and corrected. Again, I urge you to reach out to me at the number I have provided below to talk further about your recent stay if you wish. I also invite you back to see us, as I know we have the ability to exceed your disappointments next time your in town. I look forward to hearing from you!

Best Regards,

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager
(334)794-8711
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dothan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dothan hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#7 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Dothan
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 2195 Ross Clark Circle, Dothan, AL 36301 (Formerly Holiday Inn - Dothan South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dothan
#6 Business Hotel in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full service hotel is located on the corner of Ross Clark Circle and Hwy. 231 South, just 90 minutes to the beautiful beaches of Panama City, FL. We have newly renovated rooms and lobby offering many great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Dothan
Clarion Inn And Suites
Dothan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing