We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected after reading reviews.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Kennard, IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than I expected after reading reviews.”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We had a free night at this hotel (will explain more about that later), but was not sure what we would get into after reading the reviews on tripadvisor about the motel. We were actually pleasantly surprised. It is absolutely not a fancy place, but we found it to be very clean. The room was small, but it didn't smell and the bathroom was very clean. It is always the first place I check. The wireless internet service in the room was handy. We found this hotel to be fine since we were just needing a place to sleep after traveling all day and getting up early to head out again the next morning. We had an issue with our TV, but the front desk was pleasant and very quick to respond and fix the problem. Not a 5 star place by any means, but was all we needed. OK, about the free night. We had joined the Choice Hotel Club at a Sleep Inn that was wonderful. It was a $100 a night hotel and we were told if we stayed 2 nights we would get one free. So on our way back home we stayed our second night. We did get the free night, but what they don't tell you is that your free night is at their economy line hotels (Econo Lodge & Quality). Just wished they had been more informative when we joined, but hey a free night was great anyway even if it wasn't at the cushy Sleep Inn in Dothan that was rated the #1 Choice hotel in Alabama!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkmingomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tammy Kyser
gm
Econo Lodge, dothan
3346738000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    6
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I am a Choice member and the Sleep Inn was booked, this Econo Lodge exceeded my standards. This hotel looks like it has recently been renovated from the looks of the furniture in the room. I was initially on the trip for vacation and business came up. However, thank to the mini business center with desks in the room, I was easily able to to take care of it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
On behalf of our hotel staff , I am wrighting you to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words. iIt is truely rewarding when our guest rerecognizes our staff's efforts and take the time to let us know . The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service and resonable prices and a comfortable stay . It is only thru your eyes that we can accuretly assess the quality of the accommodation and servies we provide .

again thank you
Tammy Kyser
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I was traveling with my retired parents to Florida and they wanted to stay on the cheap. Dothan has lots of hotel choices and the econo lodge wanted our business. The price started in the $60's and we couldn't refuse their offer of $48. It is an aging outdoor entrance motel. Parking is ridiculously tight and it could have been a Days Inn years ago. The furniture is old, the tv is old and the a/c is old. It did the job in the dark and Chick-Fil-A was just up the road for my morning chicken biscuit. Mom and Dad would stay there again for less than $50.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KahunaSchelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
I want to thank you for your feed back . I'm conconcerned about your exsperance while your were at out hotel . I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention to my attention .Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings that may have accured .I want you to know any comments or sugestions are taken seriously . they tell us what is being done wright and wrong and helps us to inprove.

once again please accept my sincere apology
Tammy Kyser
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dothan hotels

Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My wife and I arrived and stood in line for a long time to check in. Rates were all over the board. Our room had fleas so we slept on top of the bed covers. The people next door had loud [-] then it was quiet for a short time then a party started. It lasted till 4:30 a.m. There was loud music, banging on the walls. etc. We had driven all day and needed sleep, which we did not get. The deluxe continental breakfast consisted of 2 loaves of bread, butter and apple juice. Choice was highly recommended by another family member. Needless to say, our future business will go elsewhere.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Watkinsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
I want to thank you for your feed back . I'm conconcerned about your exsperance while your were at out hotel . I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention to my attention .Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings that may have accured .I want you to know any comments or sugestions are taken seriously . they tell us what is being done wright and wrong and helps us to inprove.

once again please accept my sincere apology
Tammy Kyser
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mongtomery, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Dothan Econo Lodge. What a disappointment. It's supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but the rooms absolutely reeked. The clerks were nice, but we witnessed a maid actually smoking in a room the next morning ... unacceptable.

Downsides: The continental breakfast was depleted by 7:30 the following morning, there were rat peels in the walkways and the linens and towels had hairs on them when we arrived.

Be advised, it was only $51 a night, and you will get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Nice Clerks
  • Disliked — Rooms reeked of smoke
Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ALStagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
I want to thank you for your feed back . I'm conconcerned about your exsperance while your were at out hotel . I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention to my attention .Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings that may have accured .I want you to know any comments or sugestions are taken seriously . they tell us what is being done wright and wrong and helps us to inprove.

once again please accept my sincere apology
Tammy Kyser
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2004

We have stayed at the Dothan Econo Lodge around 3 times and again we visited this June and found the property was in need of a good cleaning. We always stop because they have a great rate for someone to lay their head for the night. We rented two rooms and while ours was tolerable the other room we rented reaked of mildew and found mildew in the room. We called the front desk and the promptly moved rooms but the new room was better but not by much. We had a king room which was adequate but the carpet needed to be replaced. If some of these general housekeeping processes were improved, we would stay again.

Helpful?
8 Thank Myke729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy K, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
I want to thank you for your feed back . I'm conconcerned about your exsperance while your were at out hotel . I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention to my attention .Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings that may have accured .I want you to know any comments or sugestions are taken seriously . they tell us what is being done wright and wrong and helps us to inprove.

once again please accept my sincere apology
Tammy Kyser
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dothan hotels
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#13 of 27 in Dothan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#7 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dothan
Days Inn Dothan
#21 of 27 in Dothan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2910 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36301-1120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dothan Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Dothan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing