We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Cookin'!”
Review of The Blue Plate

The Blue Plate
Ranked #10 of 224 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Dothan, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Country Cookin'!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for some fine country coming. They bring out hot biscuits and fried cornbread and keep it coming for the entire meal. Prices are reasonable and the house is always packed. That, my friend, is a clue as to the quality of food and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere; Full Parking Lot”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here, but as soon as I pulled into the parking lot, I got good vibes this was a good place to eat. The parking lot was full with lots of regular patrons. Inside the restaurant I found the establishment clean and orderly. The wait staff was pleasant and good at what they do. The menu had a lot of options, all reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big_Globe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unwelcome”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I do not like this establishment, period!!! I was under the impression that maybe it was a bad day. But, it must be a bad day on quite a few other times. Just watching the servers seat customers was appalling. This establishment does not leave people of color longing to go back unless perhaps one works there. Blue Plate wants your money, wishes you be a carry-out. The food is marginal. This esatblishment is like morning breath, it just simply leaves a bad taste in your mouth!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Venus1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Southern cooking, casual atmosphere, prompt service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of our favorite local places. It's a regular for after-church lunch, as well as weekday/night meals when I'm in the mood for some yummy veggies. Several entrees are offered at half portions --great for those watching their intake. Or pick a veggie plate -- the only complaint about the veggies: choosing! Their creamed corn is sweet and wonderful, served in a bowl with a spoon! Fried okra, peas, green beans, mashed potatoes, and more. Hungry? Try the country fried steak dinner -- my fave! I prefer the white gravy, but brown is an option, also. Many choices, something for everyone, and the prices are very reasonable. Even their salads are fabulous! Daily specials, and every meal comes with a basket of homemade biscuits and fried corn bread. My oh my.... and don't forget the tea! But if sweet tea is too sweet for you, try "half and half" -- perfect!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rambec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“country cookin'”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

while visiting friends over the 4th of July weekend, we were out and about in Dothan, AL. They took us to one of their favorite outdoor stores and they said we can also have lunch there as well. i was curious but game for anything. as it turned out The Blue Plate is connected to the outdoor store, just walk from one to the other. it's a true dinner and the food is great. it's country cookin' with plenty of wonderful vegetables on hand to select from. i had a 4 vegetable plate, but you can also choose just 3 veggies or 5 veggies as well. some of our party had the country fried steak that was really good and someone else had chicken livers, those i did not try. (sorry, ick.)
the prices were very resonable. oh and don't forget the fried dill pickles for an app. they were really good.they also bring to your table a basket of small biscuits and corn doggers. if you don't know what those are, well you're just going to have to visit to find out. let's just say they were the highlight of the table.the guys suggest you try hot sauce on them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maddi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing