We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak Not As Advertizied” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conestoga Steak House

Conestoga Steak House
Ranked #4 of 223 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Steak Not As Advertizied”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Took my husband there for his Birthday dinner...what a disappointment. His french fries were raw and seemed like they had been cooked in stale/dirty oil that was days old. Although the steaks were cooked as we wanted, their taste and presentation left a lot to be desired. Salads were pretty lack luster as a whole. He ordered a replacement side of broccoli, it was raw and not even warm. The plates had some sort of "black" sauce that the steaks were sitting it, way too salty for my tastes, what a disappoint since everyone in Dothan raves about this place. We will not be going back there...will remain faithful to a GOOD steakhouse in Daleville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank velvet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    51
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Steak in Dark Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were in Dothan celebrating our son's Warrant Officer commissioning at Ft. Rucker. We went to the Conestoga and ordered the 5oz Filet Mignon. It was cooked exactly as ordered. The salad was average. The sides were average. We had an excellent waitress. We thought the prices were a tad high for the quantity of food. $16.95 for a 5oz Filet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great steak, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has been a local favorite for over 20 years. They are famous for their steaks, which are very good. The service is nothing fancy, but very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ah64ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It has been a while since my last visit to the Conestoga but it is still the best steak I have ever had in a restaurant. The dining room is very crowded and doesnt have a natural flow but it never bothered me when I took that first bite. I like my steaks medium well and I never got a dry steak from them. It was always juicy and full of flavor. The ribeyes are nicely trimmed to remove unwanted fat but leave enough to enhance the flavor. Seasoned to perfection and cooked to order every time. I can not wait to get back to Dothan for this steak.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CW7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent steak. Does not take reservations but well worth the wait. Avoid Friday night crowds. Steak was large, tender and good service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank grammysuesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conestoga Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing