We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ delight”
Review of Dobbs BBQ

Dobbs BBQ
Ranked #102 of 224 Restaurants in Dothan
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Sebring Fl
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ delight”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Passed by here many times but never stopped til today.
Packed parking lot at 11am, but lots of eating area.
Lots of servers who are all super friendly.
Quick meal service.
Some of the very best I have ever had. I only put sauce on half of my chicken plate.
Wife had large chopped up pulled pork
Only disappoint was their famous strawberry short. It was good but more like a strawberry cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeS237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    44
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old timey but not the best”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped by for a sandwich and was a little disappointed in the meat. To me "chopped" is small chunks of somewhat dry meat. Dobbs style was puréed and my preference is not soupy. Sauce was watery so all-in-all, I thought the meat was rather "average". I loved going there as I like he old fashioned and local atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the worst BBQ we have ever had.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We should have trusted the reviews but my husband had been there years ago and wanted to try it on our way to the beach. The pork was like thick mush and the Brunswick stew was watery mush and neither had a good flavor. Neither of us even wanted to try the cole slaw. I had the vegetable soup and it was decent. After my husband tried his pork, he ordered some soup because he didn't want to eat the BBQ. I don't know how they ever get repeat customers. And it wasn't cheap either. The pork plate was 9.99 and Inedible. It's not that hard to make decent BBQ but Dobbs failed miserably.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frazzledinptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in the area for years and just now tryed this place. I got it to go the other day. The sandwich was really good and the potato salad was great!! I don't think I would want to dine in though. It's to dated and country. The food is priced very well. This place stomps Larry's BBQ, but Smokey Joes is still my favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradleyRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local Flare”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Dobbs is Dothan's oldest restaurant and it hasn't changed much since it opened. The interior is not fancy, neither is the food, but if I want BBQ in Dothan I, without hesitation, come to Dobbs. The brunswick stew is delicious. Don't forget to ask if Mr. Lee Dobbs is in and if he'll show you the Hooie Sooie stick trick.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dobbs BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing