We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

La Parrilla Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 223 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For the best Southeastern Mexican zest, your first and only stop must be La Parrilla Mexican Restaurant. Since 1994, we have been serving up a Fiesta, with exciting and delicious menu items that are sure to enchant and fascinate our guests. Currently with 16 locations in Georgia, one in Dothan, Alabama and one in Greenville, South Carolina. We are a great place to go for ardent lovers of the Mexican Cuisine.Our Chef and staff welcome our new and returning guests by preparing authentic Mexican entrees such as succulent enchiladas, juicy and tender fajitas, quesadillas, burritos and nachos all cooked to perfection and served in a beautiful atmosphere just like in sunny Mexico.It is also our pleasure to now offer you our fantastic Catering Service. Our wonderful personnel will create an entertaining Latin Fiesta in your home or office. Whatever the occasion, our authentic Mexican favorites are always crowd pleasures and we serve it up in a festive style to spice up your event.It is always a Fiesta at La Parrilla!
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service was very slow and poor. We waited a half hour for nachos. When they finally came, they were cold, and lacked flavor. We had to ask for refills on water.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theallygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    109
    36
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Too loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very noisy restaurant. Food was fine; service was on the slow side. Glad we got there at 5:30 on a Friday because there was a long wait by 6:30. Carnitas were tasty, but the "special sauce" wasn't anything special. Slightly above average for Mexican food in Alabama, but a bit overrated on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 922ScottB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food is great here. That's why they are soooo busy. My favorites are the pork tacos. Soft taco with tender pork and salsa. The restaurant has great chicken breast dishes too. The shrimp soup is a meal in itself. Delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dothan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT SURE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant alot. I am not sure if they are overwhelmed with the restaurants that are coming up next to them but the staff seem to have their minds else where. We visited there and the waitress came to get our drinks brought the wrong kind. We didnt complain. When the guy brought our chips out we asked him for napkins and he brought extra plates. i am not sure what is wrong. It was one of our guests birthday and we didnt even get our birthday song :(

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food SLOW service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I ate there last night with some friends, the food was very good, the service not so much. They were very prompt about taking our drink orders and refilling our drinks. However we run out of tortilla chips and dip, no one bothered to refill it, we tried to flag down several waiters and we were routinely ignored. It took us almost 45 minutes to get to order our food meanwhile the tables around us people who come in well after us had their food already. The restaurant had multiple TVs going at the same time and was very crowded and loud, They attempted to seat a small group of people and realized that there was no table so they were standing around looking for a seat, we had a few seats available at our table so they had them sit there. Certainly not what I would expect from a nice restaurant, and the service was completely and totally unacceptable. I have never been to this restaurant before and its not very likely that I will go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Parrilla Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing