We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Food, Buffet style”

Zack's Family Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 223 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Southern Food, Buffet style”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lots of good, southern food - nothing fancy, just good. Generally loud and crowded, and you'll see most everyone in town there at one time or another. But it's not an exceptional dining experience, it's just good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Couldn't pull the trigger!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

after hearing good things about zacks i decided to give it a try with a buddy. we got there a little early to beat the hoard of lunch buffet fans that we new would soon be there. i walked down the food line to check it out and i just couldnt do it. canned vegetables swimming in some sort of grease. and more grease....and more grease. not for me...we went to subway and had a great 7 dollar lunch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jubileepeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
199 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The food was really good. I am not a fan of country cooking, but I will defentley be back! It wasn't to salty and very filling. All the food taste home made.
The only con it is very confusing on what's included. They need to be more organized.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradleyRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States
Level Contributor
231 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“They Must Be Doing Something Right, Don't Know What It Is.”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We usually go to the restaurant in Slocomb by the same name, same owner, but time restraints and a fried chicken craving, this spot won, (or really lost). We entered and were directed to the buffet line, and the fun began. There is a sign that says 1 meat, 3 veggies 9.00, very do-able. We were told by the "salad" woman to take our time down the line and help ourselves, and that we did. Fried chicken, yams, mac n cheese, green beans, all dished up by the workers, reminding me of school lunch. This is where it gets confusing. There were plastic baskets of fried green tomatoes, fried okra, corn pones, cherry cobbler. We were told help ourselves once again. We ordered the fried pickles also, and were told they would be brought to our table shortly. The cashier is the last person on the line, and imagine my face when we received a 34.00 tab for 2 lunches. Aparently the "help yourself" eans everything is ala carte pricing, something I would not have minded if this would have been posted,because all these items are included in the price in Slocomb,The problem here is the exact food at the Slocomb venue is all you can eat, you serve yourself. Lunch for 2, same food, more food, better selection- 18.00. Don't think to hard on this one. The okra and fried tomatoes were room temp, and the tomatoes were served in a plastic basket with a napkin liner, making sure every bite included just a little bit of paper, perhaps for fiber? When the pickles arrived they were not hot, and had no dipping saue, just pickles in a basket. The veggies received no complaints except for the saltiness, and 4 hours later I still cannot quench my thirst. This place does have the small town feel, everyone chatting with each other on a first name basis. Perhaps cut back on the chatter and concentrate on the food. I see no need to return here, and the descrepancy in the pricing is ridiculous. This visit was so unsettling I am not sure we can give this owner any more of our money. Is this just greed because people will pay? Competition is the spice of life, and this place competed us right out the door. If you want the exact food in unlimited quantities, served by yourself instead of the lunch lady, go to Slocomb, or stay home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank franklinmilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Redneck food served buffet style”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just good food and lots of it in a remodeled house, like going to a family reunion. Very good food if you like country cooking from the south. Prepare to put on some pounds.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zack's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing