We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Clean & auiet room; friendly staff; great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, Clean & auiet room; friendly staff; great breakfast”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here one night on our way to Florida. We had a king room that was very spacious with room for a nice sized desk. Bed was comfortable and room was immaculate. The front office staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. The hot breakfast had many offerings - eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, oatmeal, make-it-yourself waffles, and more. It was a little crowded in the breakfast room but since it was spring break, that was to be expected. The staff working in the breakfast area was very helpful. The hotel is located in a great area close to many restaurants (Cracker Barrel, Outback, Ruby Tuesdays, etc). Although we didn't have time to enjoy these amenities, the indoor pool and Jacuzzi looked very inviting. There was also an exercise room with several pieces of fitness equipment (larger area than I would have expected). In summary, I would stay here again in a heart beat. If you found this review helpful, please give it a positive vote.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sqdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
One of the best ways for guests to truly understand what level of service they can expect is to read a review here on tripadvisor.com. Your summary will go a long way in helping others find a caring, consistant, comfortable hotel in Dothan.

I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a review. We also invite you to return again to the Country Inn & Suites - dothan. We will keep the hotel ready.

Respectfully,

Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    80
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
150
74
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night. I will start with the pros. The lobby was clean and welcoming. Check-in, they had doubled our reservation. The location is convenient and was easy to get in and out of. Breakfast was great as usual, with hot food as well as cold food. Beds are always comfortable at every Country Inn & Suites we have stayed at.

We love Country Inn & Suites and have always had great luck with them. This time, when we got into our room, we found paperwork on the desk from the previous guest. A stack of work papers with phone numbers and product information. We took these down to the desk as we figured they might call looking for them. They looked important.

We dropped our bags, changed and headed out for the event we were there for. It was late when we returned and then we discovered the previous occupants room key there as well on another table. When we went to shower, the previous occupant's soap, shampoo and conditioner was still in the shower. That led me to think had it even been cleaned?

Also, hubby had forgotten to enter our AAA discount when we reserved. It would have lowered our bill about $10.00. When we let them know and showed them the card, they said because we had not entered it in the original reservation, it could only be applied to the current room rate, which had risen by $40+ dollars, so would only honor our reserved rate. Ok, our fault for not putting it in, but disappointed as other chains have honored it, especially after the condition of the room.

We were very disappointed in this location. They have always been one of our favorite chains due to being clean, comfortable and decently priced. We did inform them at check-out the next day about what we had found, and the front desk clerk was apologetic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velcro911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We truly appreciate your time in writing this review of our humble hotel. I hope you will accept my sincere apology regarding this experience. As per my prior email, we are truly sorry for any inconvenience. Modifications have been made to assure rooms are made ready, prior to arrival. This was the result of a communication issue, which has since been corrected.

With regard to your concern of the AAA discount; if you will note, your corporate discount was less than the AAA discount. We always want to provide for the best available rate for our guests. My front desk associate was following policy, since you already had the best available rate. I do apologize this was not communicated when my associate advised she could not change the rate. She should have been more specific.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to show you we can do better. When you are in the area again, please contact me directly. It would be an honor to have you as our guests again.

Respectfully,
Randy Brown
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Dothan
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just a word of thanks for a job well done by the staff at this hotel. Everyone from front desk to maintenance was friendly and made me feel very welcome. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for any time of stay, dependable, clean and professional. Everyone took there jobs to the extra mile to make my stay comfortable. Thanks is hardly enough, I will look forward to another visit next time I have business there in Dothan at this incredibly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rldrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
One of the ultimate compliments is to receive a review from a long-term guest who, himself is a road-warrier. That is, in our business, the voice of the true professional, when it comes to wants and needs in the hotel industry. While management may think they know what guests want, it is YOU who actually sets the standard for every other guest.

In this ever changing, fast paced world, it is so nice the the personal interaction of a hotel's staff is still at the forefront. You can rest assured this level of service will continue.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit to the Country Inn & Suites - Dothan. In the mean time, several other weary travellers will be pleased to read your review.

Yours truly,
Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

By a twist of good travel time we arrived in Dothan earlier than expected. I called in the wee hours to see if our suite was available for one night earlier and luckily it was. We still got there early (time change) and the staff did every thing they could to get our room done quickly so we could have our room ASAP! It was a nice suite. The pool was warm and the hot tub was very hot!!

Room Tip: We prefer suites so we can have private parent space, but watch the drive way - there's quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendanextdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
One thing which is all but lost in our modern society is the fact that our business is "People". I am so pleased that you wrote the kind words, but I am more encouraged by the fact that you truly enjoyed your experience.

We truly were honored to have you as our guests. We hope you will select the Country Inn & Suites - Dothan for all future accomodation needs, when in the area. Better yet, we hope that Country Inn & Suites by Carlson will become your main place of slumber for all future trips. You can expect the same level of service, and well maintained rooms, no matter where you stay.

Respectfully,
Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Tennis team travelled to Dothan over a long weekend. Randy (GM) was helpful weeks ahead as we booked various room types for the team. Great prices for very comfortable ammenities. Rooms were clean, bedding very sleep worthy. They had DirecTv service and the Tennis channel available at all times! Check-in Check-Out was quick and simple and accommodating to our late check-out needs.

Special kudo's to Kim White at the front desk for daily friendly chatter and assistance with restaurant selections and helpful tips about Dothan lifestyle. She always went the extra mile to help...great friendly atmoshere for business, family, or friends. Thanks CI&S Dothan!

Room Tip: Skip the elevator. Stairways are wide, safe, and convenient for a heart healthy trip to the 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are truly humbled by your kind words. I am so glad that you and the other teams enjoyed your time with us. You can rest assured, Kim will be put in the spotlight as a result of the comments you made. This is the level of service you have come to expect.

We look forward to the next event later this year. We trust that you will again select the Country Inn & Suites for your team.

Respectfully,
Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Dothan, Alabama for a quick weekend trip with 2 adults and 3 young children. We were looking for a nice, clean hotel with an indoor pool and great rates. We found it! The staff was incredibly friendly. Everyone from the front desk clerk to the housekeeping staff smiled and said hello anytime we saw them. The lady working the front desk when we arrived was having difficulties with the printer and kept apologizing for the wait (check in was 5 minutes from start to finish, max).
We stayed in a 1 bedroom king suite with a queen pull out sofa and had plenty of room for everyone (baby was in a pack & play). We needed an extra blanket and pillow for the kids so I went to the front desk to request them. At first it looked like we would not be able to get an extra pillow as they were all taken, but the young man working the front desk tracked one down for me.
The pool and whirlpool were both very clean and never crowded (although it seemed that the hotel was pretty full). I would advise anyone selecting this hotel strictly for the pool that the website lists a "heated" pool, but it was not heated. The room itself seemed warm, but the water was definitely chilly. My oldest 2 kids had no problems jumping right in, though!

Breakfast was very good. They had something for all of us - fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, cheese sticks, waffles, biscuits & gravy and eggs. We had no problems finding something the kids would eat! The staff kept the area very clean and restocked food often.

My oldest son left his Kindle at the hotel when we checked out. We realized it after we got back home and I immediately called the hotel. It had been found and stored in their safe. I called the next morning and spoke with the manager (Randy) and he was extremely helpful. He packaged it up and mailed it out to us right away. It arrived today and my son will be so happy to see if after school. He is autistic and his kindle is one of the ways he communicates and it helps to calm him down when he is anxious or nervous, so it meant so much to me that they got it back to us quickly!
Long story short, this hotel was wonderful and we will definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMasseys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We want you to know that we truly appreciate the detail you put into this review. You covered most areas, and you can rest assured, this will be shared with my whole team.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to the Country Inn & Suites - Dothan. We will work very hard to assure that the quality you have come to expect in both facilities and service, remain.

Respectfully,
Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Rooms were clean. Breakfast each morning had good variety and plenty of food. We had to use the breakfast area for a meeting room. Front desk staff kept the "away from desk momentarily" sign up most of the time as they were outside smoking or one person brought their child to work with them and was spending time with the child on the computer intended for guests or watching tv in the breakfast room. Indoor swimming pool and spa nice. Had a room by the elevator - never heard any noise! Enter the parking lot apron slowly - there is a bad dip that should be attended to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_dothan, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We were all so pleased to read of your experience at our humble hotel. We appreciate the kind words and your comments will go a long way in helping others find our facility.

With regard to your point on our driveway, please accept my apology, this was designed to keep water run off from the adjacent parking lot from flooding the hotel parking area. You may have noticed a rather large drain located at our driveway entrance.

We look forward to your next visit to the Country Inn & Suites - Dothan. Prior to your next visit, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Respectfully,
Randy Brown
General Manager
randy.brown@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dothan hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dothan
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#9 of 27 in Dothan
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dothan
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 27 in Dothan
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Dothan
Courtyard Dothan
#8 of 27 in Dothan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
Address: 3465 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36303-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dothan
#4 Business Hotel in Dothan
#6 Family Hotel in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Dothan Hotel Dothan
Country Inn And Suites Dothan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing