We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on top of Cheaha Mountain!”

Cheaha Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Delta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch on top of Cheaha Mountain!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had family in for weekend and we drove up to Cheaha to visit old stomping grounds. Had Lunch in the main building at park. Food was good. If you are in hurry take the buffet as ordering you will wait longer than one might want to. We visited so was not to big a problem. Serice littel off. I reminded waitress that we had bill and credit card ready, as she had walked by us 4-5 times. Right away she stated she would get it in a minute! If a customer wants to pay you, take the money, don't put them off. Not Fancy but a nice place to eat and a good view while you eat. Try it but do not expect a 5 star event. If you keep this in mind, you will enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    79
    16
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highest Point in Alabama”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Near the Georgia/Alabama border. Not many people visit here, but would recommend this for a short excursion. Take Hwy 281 to the park very scenic. When you reach the top, there is a gated park with a small fee. The park has campground, cabins and a restaurant-known by the locals for its scenic view while you have lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderhorseBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“we enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We reserved a 4 person cabin with the impression there would be wifi but no tv in the cabin. When we arrived, there was satellite tv but the AT&T mifi unit was not working correctly so no wifi. There was a sign in the store that said phones in the rooms (hotel) did not work and there was no wifi. If you want remote, this is the place to go!

Cabin 10 was the one we got because we were the last to arrive for that type that night. There were 2 queen beds, a dining table with surrounding bench, fireplace, kitchen with microwave, stove, coffee pot and refrigerator as well as a bathroom with tub/shower. There was a grill and firepit outside.

Inside - the mattresses were great but there were only 2 very flat pillows per bed. The kitchen appliances worked well. Kitchen gear is a bit iffy. Seemed like some might have been supplied and some might have been left by previous guests for others to use. There were four bath towel sets that could be exchanged as needed at the camp store for fresh ones.

Outside - it's a bit of a walk downhill from parking to the cabin. Be prepared to carry your stuff a couple hundred feet. There are lights on the pathway as well as a porch light to guide you. Try to arrive before dark or bring a flashlight because some of the pathway lights had not been repaired since the ice storm.

The park - we walked all of the trails inside the park while we were there. The lake trail is truly steep where the others are not quite a strenuous. (All were fun.) The lake trail is supposedly measured at either 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 miles but will seem like longer. The park staff make rounds at the lake area on a regular basis to pick up cabin, hotel and upper campground guests who take the trail down because they are usually tired upon arrival and the route back to where they are staying is about 3 miles on the road. The restrooms at the lake weren't the cleanest we had seen and the playground could use some sprucing up. (they are raising funds for that) The paddle boats at the lake were inexpensive entertainment ($5 for 30 minutes). The naturalist had several programs scheduled for the weekend we were there that our 9 year old enjoyed including a movie under the stars one night. (She is working to get more programs started on a regular basis.)

The restaurant - We ate dessert one night and the breakfast buffet the next day. Food was ok. Service seemed a little slow.

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone we saw was very friendly and had a great attitude. It's a great place to get away from everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Make a day of it! ....or two--go for the views and nature”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very beautiful views! We first stopped in at the general store at the park entrance to gather more information about trails, waterfalls, and accommodations. The lady at the State Park general store was so sweet and helpful! (I wish that I had taken down her name). She highlighted some of the best trails and sights since we would only be there for one day and one night. We ended up being able to check in to the Park Hotel right away, which was wonderful b/c it was only 10 am when we arrived. The Park Hotel was only so-so. It was nice enough, no "wow" moments on the room interiors, BUT-Man, what a view!! The restaurant at the hotel had probably the best views in the whole park! The restaurant itself was a little disappointing based on the expectations I had from the pictures on the website, but it was pretty decent. The staff was hit or miss. We ended up with a very pleasant waitress. The food was actually pretty good. We ordered from the menu and not the buffet. And, I am glad we did. The steak was excellent and local wine was very tasty, too. The best part of our trip was taking the 1/4 mi and 1/2 mi walking trails inside the park and driving through the Talledega National Forest to sight see. The overlook tower was very tall and views would have been great if the glass had been cleaned inside the tower in order to have a more clear view. We were really looking forward to going inside the two museums inside the State Park, but neither were open although the signs showed that they both should have been open. That was a disappointment. All in all, it was worth the trip to experience the highest point in beautiful Alabama and get some exercise hiking and spending good quality time together as a couple!!! There were many more things to see and do, that time did not allow for. We would go back, but probably stay in Oxford or Anniston overnight and drive into park. One other thing worth mentioning is that there is a trail with a board walk all of the way out to Bald Rock. It was very nice and accessible to those who maybe cannot walk rugged hiking trails. The view at Bald Rock was spectacular as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thegriffithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City. GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little better, but not quite there yet,”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Apparently the park has "refurbished" the lower campground. All I could see what a little bit of new gravel and some new landscape timbers. We stayed in the upper campground. Roads still very rough. The whole place needs repaving. We picked a campsite and then proceeded to clean it up. Trash left on the ground... dirty diapers in the fire pit.... I never once saw a campground host cleaning anything up, although I saw sites with host signs out front. The pool says it opens at 8 am. What that really means is the maintenance guys get there around 8 am and start putting chemicals in the pool so you have to wait until 9 am to swim. When questioned about it, the staff says, yes... the pool opens at 8 am but we clean it from 8 to 9. Duh. Keep trying! Make sure you check out the Natural History museum in Anniston. It's cheap and pretty interesting. Dad's BBQ next door to the museum was pretty good as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jqp_ptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheaha Resort State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cheaha Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing