We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western River City Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Vashon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Road trip”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked the hotel on arrival. Price was right. Location good. It's just off main road, but was very quiet. Clean, comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful. Complimentary breakfast the usual fare. Personally find eating off plastic plates and cutlery a disappointment. So wasteful. I get it that they wouldn't be able to afford to do the breakfast if they needed all the equipment to clean the dishes, but it still bothers me. I'd sooner go out to a restaurant with real plates and eggs cooked right then.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
On behalf of the staff at Best Western in Decatur, Alabama, thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We hope on your next road trip you will stop back by & stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    64
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
94
35
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I am tired of being cold from the North. It is nice to get away to Alabama. River City Best Western has treated me great and definitely has Southern hospitality. They will help you out and keep you going with a complimentary hot breakfast. I do like the use of the gym membership they let their guest use.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
On behalf of the staff at Best Western, Decatur Alabama, thank you for submitting this positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We value our guests reviews, and we are glad to know that you enjoy each of your stays with us. We love the local athletic club membership that we provide for our guests daily use, and our staff is super exceptional!! See you the next time you are working in the Decatur area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in early January 2014. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the usual, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, biscuits, toast, bagels, waffles, fruit, etc. It was set up nicely and everything appeared clean. The staff was nice. I had no problems with the stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenG_1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
On behalf of the staff at Best Western here in Decatur, Alabama, we sincerely appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your recent stay with us. We value each of our guests, and always strive to make sure their stays are enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to your return visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin rapids, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not clean, and Asian beetles in room. The staff tried to deny my upgrade that I'm entitled to being a diamond member. This is the worst Best Western I've ever stayed at, and I stay a lot. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roderick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at Best Western, Decatur Alabama, we sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property. We have addressed each of these issues that were brought to our attention in the review you submitted. Again, we sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at the hotel was great at helping re-arrange my stay when the airline left me stranded. The gym membership is great to use on trips to help work off the extra food. They collected food for the local food shelf showing they go beyond just being a business and are concerned for their community.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your recent experience at our property. Yes, we love our guests and our community!! We appreciate you mentioning that in your review, and the off-site gym is just another one of the outstanding services we offer our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My whole family and wedding party stayed there for my wedding October 2012. Very nice employees they made sure we had what we needed. Basically gave us the run of the place. Very helpful on such an important day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookiebell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so happy that your wedding guests had a postive experience at our property. We always look forward to our groups, and are thankful that you chose our property as your preferred hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm OCD when it comes to hotels and cleanliness, among other things. I was concerned about the hotels in the area after reading some reviews. We travel with our two dogs and some of the rooms you get for dogs are pretty gross. I was extremely happy with our stay at Best Western River City. Plenty of area to walk our dogs, plus you didn't feel like a second class citizen bringing dogs in. The room was very clean, no evidence of prior dogs. I like the fact that our coffee pot, microwave, fridge was not "in" the bathroom, plus that area had it's own sink. We stayed 5 days so I was very pleased they had a guest laundry that was very clean as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our property in Decatur, Alabama. It makes us happy to know that you & your pets enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return visit when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
388 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Decatur
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Decatur
Courtyard Decatur
#5 of 18 in Decatur
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River City Hotel

Property: Best Western River City Hotel
Address: 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
#2 Business Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western River City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing