We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great Place to Stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Decatur
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    45
    36
    42
    52
See reviews for
116
57
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 22, 2013

hello everyone ... I went to AL recently with my friends . I booked this motel for 2 days . The rate was ok as compare to other motels near by. As entered in motel , my check in was fast and the guy on front desk gave little information about motel and near nice food places. My room was spacious , clean . next morning breakfast was good and overall staff is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 15, 2013

After 8 hours driving, we appreciated friendly staff and clean, nice, comfortable room. Breakfast was delicious. Wi-Fi had a good connection. I would definitely stay here again if I ever in this area and needed a motel. I would highly recommend this La Quinta Inn. I really did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you read my previous LaQuinta Brooklyn review, you know this was my redemption stay at the LQ brand. Unfortunately, LQ lost their redemption for me here.

The good: The location is really good. It's central to the newer business district. It has all interior entrances and private hallways. The staff is SUPER sweet.

The bad: I requested the "Two Room One King Suite w/Jetted Bath & Mirror Surround" (description from LQ reservation site) and paid $30 more for it. When I walked in, it was a normal size hotel room with a small, half-wall separator between the bed and the couch. Also, the shower is IN THE ROOM...not in a private space.

That room reeked of smoke, so I requested another. Same thing. Smoke. Third room, the worst one yet PLUS when you walked (2nd floor) all the furniture jiggled with the thin floors. Finally, I got to the fourth room (1st floor 103) and settled for it. It smelled the least bad. I went to the store and purchase air freshener and dealt with it.

Breakfast was meager, compared to other low-end hotels. A few dried up muffins, Fruit Loops and some other type of cereal.

Needless to say, when we got back to the room the second night of the stay, we agreed we couldn't stay in this hole one more night, packed up and drove home.

Try the Hampton Inn down the street. It will be our only Decatur hotel now. We come to Decatur often because our family is here. Please open a new hotel, somewhere!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if at all possible or find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Do NOT stay here. Its cheap but not worth it. Very old & worn. Hole in bathroom door. Smoking holes in bedding, "Residue" of some type on furniture. Stained sofa. Just gross. Barking dogs at kennel next door. Have no idea why anyone would give this property a good review???

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2fourkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A good review usually lists the good and bad things for a hotel. Unfortunately, I can't think of anything good to say about this property. I guess it isn't very expensive, so that's good. The property is very run down and showing its age. There is a dog kennel behind the property so there are dogs barking at first light and all day. The hotel says it doesn't allow smoking, but every day the hallways were filled with cigarette smoke and a man would come by with a bottle of Febreze on occasion. The property reeked of cigarettes. There was a room of extremely loud people next to us banging their door all night. We complained three times but nothing was done. When we checked out, the clerk listened and said the police were called, but never apologized or tried to do anything - he just wanted to get rid of us. There is no elevator in the hotel so if you are on the second floor, you have to carry everything up a narrow stairway. The beds were hard. The carpet in the room was worn and torn showing the sub-floor in places. The bathroom was a mess. We show dogs and stay in cheaper hotels a lot, so our expectations aren't very high. This place was so bad it couldn't even meet any of our lowest expectations.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice people work there, but the hotel defintiely needs some work. The room has been updated some with colors and pictures, but the furniture is banged up and a bit dirty. And wow the hallways and doors and baseboards and other things need some replacement for me to consider this place again. It was okay for one night, but I am glad it was me and a couple of sons. My wife would have freaked at what we got for the price we paid.
Breakfast was minimal but clean. The lobby is nicer than the rest of the place.
I would check around before staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnicholsecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
2.3 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 18 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Decatur

Property: La Quinta Inn Decatur
Address: 918 Beltline Rd SW, Decatur, AL 35601-6270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Decatur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Decatur Hotel Decatur
La Quinta Decatur
Decatur La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing