We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Howell
1 review
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room was a little small but nice. Nick on the desk was great. Friendly & well groomed. Only small thing was the carpet in our room did need to be cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property here in Decatur, Alabama. We love our guests, and appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff. We will address the concern regarding our carpet, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you back when your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    115
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
165
69
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a pretty basic hotel, nothing fancy. It is clean, well kept and good value for the money. They had a nice outdoor pool area that we didn't try due to weather and a functional work out room. Breakfast was minimal and the rooms were on the small side, but comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and the location was near plenty of restaurants, though not really convenient to the interstate. Overall, a decent choice while in the area.

Room Tip: Very good barbecue and seafood restaurants nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know what your thoughts were on your recent at our property here in Decatur, Alabama. We always look forward to our reviews so we can take the feedback, and make our guests stay with us even more enjoyable and comfortable. We look forward to your return visit to our property!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
826 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a genuine surprise. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years on my way to and from Florida and it never ceases to amaze. The staff is super friendly and always ready to go the extra mile. The rooms are reasonable sized with spartan decoration but always extremely clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast has biscuits and gravy in addition to the usual pastried and cereals. The fitness room is small but has everything you will need, all working and well maintained. Add to this the cookies and coffee at bedtime and you have a real winner at one of the lowest prices you are liable to find. I travel 20 weeks a year so I see a lot of motel rooms. This is one of the top 10 at any price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you have visited our property several times in the past, and that you continue to come back to see us again!! We value our guests feedback, this is the only way we know if we are treating our guests like this is their home!! You will find out the next time you stop by to visit us that we've added a Waffle Maker, just another added amenity that we offer here at this property. We look forward to your return visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great microtel at a convenient location. Clean rooms, great staff, reasonably priced, with a good breakfast to get your day started!!!
I stay here at least once a month when I am in business in Decatur. It is easy to find and close to all good resturaunts in Decatur!!! It has received "The Beautification Award" there in Decatur.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate you staying with us each time you are working in the area. The next time you stay with us you will discover that we just added a Waffle Maker, we continue to strive to make this property remain #1 on Trip Advisor!! We look forward to your return visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had never stayed in a Microtel before. We probably were being too superficial in the past when we shyed away from this brand because we were turned off by the name (Micro anything doesn't sound too appealing) and the fact that the whole building is covered in white vinyl siding. This was ranked as the number one hotel in Decatur on Trip Advisor, so we gave it a shot and were pleasantly surprised.

Here's the lowdown:

The good:
*This hotel is spotless! I take air freshener to every hotel, but I didn't even need it at this one. The lobby and room smelled fresh and both were very clean.
*The breakfast was fine. The biscuits were excellent! We all commented that they were the best continental breakfast biscuits we'd ever had.
*There is a cushioned reading nook under the window. Very nifty.
*Beds were comfortable and down (may have been faux down) comforters were warm.

Usually I do "The Bad" on my reviews, but there was nothing really bad here.
My husband's only complaint was that the room seemed very small to him. (Maybe this is why it's called Microtel???) There are mirrors that line the wall where the heads of the beds are, and that is probably to make the room seem bigger. The breakfast area was a litte claustrophobic, but we had a place to sit. I don't care for fluorescent lighting and that is all our room had, but that's just personal preference.

The Best:

McKenzie at the front desk checked us in. He was great! He handled potential riff raff like a seasoned pro. I didn't catch her name, but the lady who did double duty between housekeeping and the breakfast area was very friendly and did a great job keeping those delicious biscuits replenished.

Room Tip: We saw the suites before we settled on the room with two queen-sized beds. If you only need one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so glad that you gave Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham here in Decatur, Alabama an opportunity to WOW you!!! We sincerely appreciate your feeback, and we will pass along your compliments to our staff members that made an impression on you. The next time you are back in the area, please stop by & stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 18 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#8 of 18 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Address: 2226 Beltline Road South-West, Decatur, AL 35601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Decatur
#4 Business Hotel in Decatur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites - Decatur Hotel Decatur
Microtel Decatur
Decatur Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing