We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here even though we only live in Huntsville. We met family there byte front desk staff were very nice. The pool was nice and clean. The rooms were nice. No hairdryer in the room but the front desk had one. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbsmom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 454 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in Decatur, AL overnight while driving down to Florida for vacation. It was easy to find off the highway and had the best rates for what you're getting in town. The lobby looked great and the rooms must have been recently updated. Couldn't find anything to complain about. Staff was friendly when we asked for extra pillows. The next morning we ate their breakfast that they had out just off of the lobby area. The best part was the pool. The maintenance man was out cleaning and straightening up around the pool and was very friendly and helpful with directions. Pool was clean and had great landscaping around it. I know that this is where we're going to stop each year on the way down and up from the beach. Great job Microtel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinbrzez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had no reservations, instead took the little travel coupon booklet you can get at Shoneys. Walked in, used the coupon and they were STILL very nice and friendly. They even extended our original stay at the same price! The room was awesome. Beds comfortable. Room clean. Fluffly towels. Staff very nice & personable. Breakfast great with lots of variety! Overall we all were VERY satisfied with this Inn! Can't wait to visit again. Continue to recommend this to Cook's employees & other people traveling to Decatur. Thanks. :D

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckysgal731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I had originally booked this hotel for 5 nights based on being the number 1 hotel in Decatur Alabama. Upon checkin, the room I was given was a very small room with no refrigerator. I went to front desk and the lady was nice enough to upgrade me to one of their suites on the second floor. This had a sitting area, sink, microwave, cabinets, and a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable with good pillows. However, the carpet in this room was filthy. There were large dark spots all over the carpet. I cannot say if all of their rooms have filthy carpet, but this one did! How much could it cost to clean the carpets? Also, they need to buy new towels and washcloths. They have been washed so many times they are very used and off-color.

Room Tip: Ask nicely for an upgrade to a suite for no charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iame2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were heading back home from a week in Pensacola Beach and were about done with the long drive for the day when we chose this hotel based on our location and the other reviews posted here. We also had one of the rest area coupon books with an ad that clearly stated the discount, parameters and details. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable and the decor was rather interesting, in a good way. Instead of ugly lamps, the entire back wall was a sheet of black glass, with recessed lights along the top edge. Towels and linens were all fluffy and fresh. Minor complaints were: the sink was clogged and drained VERY slowly and the desk chair managed to escape any sort of cleaning. The carpets were clean as were all surfaces. Road noise was not as bad as expected, and we were facing the highway. Microwave & fridge worked fine. Breakfast was coffee, the usual collection of sugary non-food items, sugary cereal, instant oatmeal and a crockpot of gravy to go with what I assume were biscuits. IMPORTANT tip: They are about 8 miles OFF of I-65, and the front desk clerk told us that cell phones, GPS and Google Maps all have an issue with the area. Their directions will ne wrong. This was true, as we turned right, rather than left, and went 16 miles out of our way using GPS. It showed us in the middle of a field, rather than anywhere where we actually were. Follow any signs you see towards Decatur. I hope this review was helpful- reading other's reviews has not only been very helpful, many times it's incredibly entertaining during a long drive!

Room Tip: ask for ground floor, away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I needed a place to spend one night in Decatur and, having never stayed at a Microtel, I decided to try this one out. The staff made me feel welcome and the property was clean. The beds in our room were comfortable but I had great difficulty sleeping due to the noise from the highway traffic in front of the hotel. The property is located right beside the highway and the heavy traffic in front makes getting a decent nights sleep almost impossible. If you choose to stay here be sure to ask for a room on the back side of the property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Trusting the excellent reviews here, I booked this hotel for an overnight stay. Upon arrival we were checked in by a pleasant if somewhat inefficient (she said she was new) desk clerk. We'd paid in advance so all went smoothly. Opening the door to the room, a gust of heat came out. The heater had obviously been on, and on high for quite some time. Attempting to turn it off to bring the temperature down failed. The button was stuck. I returned to the desk to request a different room. The pleasant but somewhat inefficient clerk puttered abut for a while, checking available rooms, and explaining that she'd have to charge us more because the only available rooms had 2 beds, and we'd booked a cheaper one-bed room. She feared that she would get into trouble if she switched us. I emphisized that the room was uninhabitable, and she would not get into trouble for providing good service. So she finally moved us. The new room was fine, we slept well, and all seemed well until we arrived at home again .... and I discovered that we'd not only been charged extra for the larger room, but we'd been charged DOUBLE -- once for the first room and again for the second. I'm in the process of disputing the charge with the credit card company, but it shouldn't have ever happened. New clerks need to be properly trained. Period.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.2 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 19 in Decatur
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#10 of 19 in Decatur
307 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 19 in Decatur
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Address: 2226 Beltline Rd SW, Decatur, AL 35601-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Decatur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
#4 Business Hotel in Decatur
Price Range: $61 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near restaurants, shopping and major industries just a few blocks from the Decatur Mall. Free hotel features include an expanded full hot breakfast buffet, membership privileges at Decatur's premier health club and the largest on site outdoor hotel pool / picnic area in Decatur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites - Decatur Hotel Decatur
Microtel Decatur
Decatur Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing