We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It USE to be good but not anymore.”
Review of Golden Phoenix - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Phoenix
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
1 review
“It USE to be good but not anymore.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I use to go once a week on Sundays. It WAS really good. We started going less often when our favorite waiter was no longer working there. We started to notice a change in the taste of the food also. I'm not sure if they changed cooks or not but it's not good. The last time we went, the food had no flavor at all except nasty. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worse enemy. They need to find a better chef.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessdramos87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New Sushi Bar”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

While in town for a NCAA Division II softball tournament, I brought the entire team for dinner at the Golden Phoenix. Since my last visit they have upgraded the sushi bar and added additional desserts for those who enjoy something sweet after your meal. I sampled the buffet, sushi, and desserts and I have nothing but good things to say about the experience. Friendly staff that accommodated a party of 30 with hesitation. We will be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coach_Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

As a resident of Decatur I've seen this restaurant make a slow decline in the past few years. At one time it was the best in town or basically the only sit down Chinese in town. They've just not kept up with the competition at all. The buffet is small when compared to others. The service is consistently terrible. I've kept going off and on the last couple of years thinking that they might just get it together; it's not happening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Buffet was cold and manager argued about it”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went there as a family and the food was cold on the buffet. Everyone working there was sitting down at a table near us, talking. No one wanted to wait on you. We told them the food was cold and they argued about it. They are horrible with customers and serve chemical food that is chocked full of msg and probably a few bacteria, too. Never again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thankyouabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place for travelling”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

There wasn't a lot there, but good enough selection. They put more effort into quality unlike most buffets. The staff was friendly and on the ball and the priced was very reasonable for a lunch buffet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mortschool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing