We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice addition”
Review of Mellow Mushroom - CLOSED

Mellow Mushroom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers was founded in 1974 in Atlanta, Georgia. This franchise, operated under Home-Grown Industries of Georgia, Inc., is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. For 41 years, Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers has been serving up fresh, stone-baked pizzas to order in an eclectic, art-filled, and family-friendly environment. Each Mellow is locally owned and operated and provides a unique feel focused around great customer service and high-quality food. Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice addition”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a good option for reliable good pizza. We have been several times. The veggie pizza is the best. A nice beer selection! They outdid themselves with the decoration and the building. The floors can be slick though. The service is kinda hit or miss. The guys are really good. Outdoor patio is fun. Family friendly. I wish they had pasta. The pizza crust is really good. The pizza isn't greasy. I recommend trying it. It can get crowded on weekends, so get there early.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 320Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne City, IL
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I are in town on business, and wanted pizza! We picked the right place!!
The place was packed, and the atmosphere was very upbeat, and the music selection was fantastic! Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We had the cheese bread as an appetizer. I had the house calzone and my husband had the house pizza for entrées. Everything was delicious, and the portions were huge! We had plenty for lunch the next day!! The PBRs were cold, and the best part about them,…They were only $2.00!!

We had an appetizer, drinks, and 2 HUGE entrées. Our bill was a very reasonable: $38.00. I highly recommend this Mellow Mushroom!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chambliss06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Pizza was excellent. We had a table inside and it was rock concert loud. I would have enjoyed it better on the patio. I will return to this location in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good variety of pizza”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A little more expensive than some pizza (and calzone and hoagie) places but very tasty. You can choose your own toppings or choose from some of their specialty pizzas. Our waitress was friendly and very knowledgeable about their selections. A bit loud for discussions (at lunch anyway) but pretty good atmosphere overall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vesper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Newest place in town”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is latest part of the Decatur downtown revitalization plan, and it seems to have started with a resounding success! The first week has seen long waits but our experience was a good one. For lunch, we split a small pizza (certainly enough for two people), with soft drinks, with our bill coming to around $18. Like most Mellow Mushroom restaurants, the bar menu offered an interesting & varied selection of craft beers, many of them produced locally in northern Alabama. I can't wait to go back for dinner!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank idservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing