We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Mexican Place”
Review of Camino Real

Camino Real
Ranked #44 of 157 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Favorite Mexican Place”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is where I eat when I want Mexican. I usually get the chimichanga with chicken. The chicken is well seasoned and I like the onions and bell peppers in it. It comes with a white cheese sauce, which I love.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannonTDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican restaurant in Decatur”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Been here many times over the years. I order a combination plate of some sort each time. Food tastes fresher here than at some Mexican restaurants I have visited. They have the only refried beans that I like.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sueonthego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family has been going to Camino Real for years. It is our favorite Mexican restaurant. I have the fajitas which are excellent. My wife usually gets the chimichanga and loves it. Prices are very reasonable and cheap when getting the lunch specials. Service is usually very good although it can get a little slow when they get full.

It is an old Western Sizzler steakhouse which was converted to Camno Real years ago. It was remodeled a couple of years ago and, while not elegant, is a nice family place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my problem is with the service, or lack there of.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

ok so we went with a group of people from my husbands job, and we love mexican food. This isnt our spot but we thought we would give it a try. The food was pretty good, i mean it was hot and fresh and i didnt have an issue. MY issue is the 25 mins it took to get our drink order. Then another 30 to get our food order. Then we waited anther 40 or so for our food. when i say group, i mean, 5 adults, and 4 preteens. The waiters were rude, like they didnt want to do anything . I wont ever go back

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocket City
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“run of the mill Mexican”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

just your average "americanized" Mexican joint -- gracious portions, well cooked, but rather bland seasoning. chips were crisp, salsa was extremely watery and lacked flavor. prompt & courteous server.

bright interior is split into 2 dining areas, the building is an old family discount steak place repurposed & painted festive colors. no waiting area, prepare to wait outside on a busy night.

marquee claims they are Best Mexican in Decatur for 2012 -- must not have been much competition. if competing with Las Trojas, Sandovals or Rosies across the river in Huntsville, this place would be empty. will keep looking for the real best Mexican in Decatur.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 550_Maranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Real also viewed

 

Been to Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing