We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decatur - Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #118 of 156 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decatur - Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lunch at Steak n Shake is a treat!
I highly reccomend any of their specials.
Fast food, great prices, with a wait-staff & pay as you leave.
I like the format!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I give up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used to love to take our daughter to Steak N Shake. She loves the food and icecream treats. However; the last several times we have been it has been aweful. The service is horrendous, and the manager completely ineffective. We arrived and waited 10 minutes to be seated while 5 employees (including a manager) stood around doing nothing. Tons of empty tables. It is inexcusable to receive and finish a meal before you even receive your milkshake. The manager stomps around yelling a staff to do this-and-that, but never actually does anything himself. You'd think it was a busy night with a line out the door instead of a half-full restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eenygma_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“No surprises”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

No surprises here but great location. Overall a good value for a drive through fast food restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yetiworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Shakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I enjoy lunching at Steak n Shake with friends. Prices are reasonable, service is good and they have the best milk shakes in Decatur

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food with a classic diner feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We find this as a very nice place to eat, either with friends or the family. They have several "deals" that we see as a good value at $3.99. Overall, the service is good at we really like the classic diner feel of this place. The inside is bright and clean. The shakes, of course, are a great way to top off a meal!

If you've never been, this is not a fast-food "order-at-the-counter" place. This is a sit-down restaurant with waiters and waitresses serving you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LordOfTheRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing