We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Decatur
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
“Not ready for guests”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Had to ask for bulbs for three out of five lamps. Not enough washcloths: One on first day and none on second. Had to ask the desk for additional towels and a wash cloth. Breakfast bar not maintained. (ran out of syrup for waffles early and wasn't replenished. Total of one small bar of soap. Bed uncomfortable and hard. Staff was accommodating but we shouldn't have to ask for common items. Overall, we won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    9
    11
    22
See reviews for
36
12
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedalia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We travel a great deal for my husbands job. Many times it is on very short notice and we don't have a lot of options . The company he works for recommended the Jamison Inn in Decatur Alabama. The room was very clean,the value was certainly there and all amenities were available. The staff is what makes this hotel OUTSTANDING ! My husband had been overcome with a heat stroke on the job site and was brought back to the hotel. He collapsed and was unconscious and bleeding severely. The manager on duty, Alex, responded immediately ! He called 911 and stayed with him until the paramedics arrived. He offered any assistance that was necessary. After he was taken to the hospital Alex went through my husbands phone record and determined the most frequently called number, mine, and called me at home 800 miles away. He was very professional and sincere in his concern and offered to assist in any way possible.When I arrived the hotel was very gracious and offered any accommodations that I might need after a 14 hour drive and a night in the intensive care unit with my husband. I will forever be grateful to the staff of the Jamison Inn for going above and beyond what anyone could expect from a hotel. Alex literally saved my husbands life. If you ever have an opportunity to stay in Decatur Alabama the Jamison Inn is the only hotel to stay in and please say hi to Alex and the rest of the staff from a very grateful family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyPrivitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Betty, I hardly call setting several cans of RAID on the counter for guests to handle the roaches taking your pest problem seriously. This has been going on for years as well as the bed bug problem you have, and you know it.

We stayed two nights, and it was the worst two nights of my life. Roaches, spiders, ants and bed bugs. We had maids making out for all to see as well. There were dead ants in the pool and soured orange juice served at breakfast. Mildew and mold on bathroom ceiling and two tiny towels for a family of 4. The floors were very nasty in our room.

I got an itchy rash from sleeping on your sheets. This place is a "roach motel" and everyone in town knows it. In fact, I won't even allow my luggage inside my house until it is fumigated. Betty, own up to your words before your pants catch fire.

This was taken from a previous complaint the manager responded to:

Betty McGee stated "We take complaints like this very seriously and have our hotel inspected on a monthly basis. Anytime we receive a complaint, we get pest control to inspect the rooms immediately for any problems. On August 4, the week before you arrived, we had Cook’s Pest control come out to inspect. The pest inspection went well and there were no signs of infestation found in any room. I apologize that you found otherwise and will be addressing this issue immediately".

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Manchester, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Very clean, the furniture was in great shape and bed's were comfortable. The rooms are fairly small, but good for the money, so this motel is a perfect choice if you are just staying a night or two or are on a small budget. We were first time visitors, but we were satisified.

Room Tip: -There are no 'Do Not Disturb' signs to put up, so the cleaning lady will start making her r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpb_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I travel 100 + days a year and I usually don't write reviews but after seeing the reviews posted on this property i feel i have to share MY experiences.

The rooms are very clean. the furnishing may not be the latest style but it is well maintained.
the staff is helpful and polite. always ready with directions, faxes and fresh towels.
the breakfast is a continental, a good one but nothing to write home about. they have waffles and biscuits and gravy and fruit... the usual.
The best thing are the wonderfully comfy beds. If you are a business traveler who is looking for a clean but still economical place to stay this is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesonInnDecatur, General Manager at Quality Inn Decatur, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear D.K

Thank you for allowing us to serve your lodging needs. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction and it was our pleasure to make your stay the quality one you expected. We look forward to having you as our guest again on a return trip to Decatur and thank you again for staying with us


regards,

Betty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Waffle mixture was sour. Fruit was rotten. Coffee wasn’t made. Room was fine, although you will need to take the stairs. (Motel style layout, so no elevators for 2nd floor.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesonInnDecatur, General Manager at Quality Inn Decatur, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. As mentioned in the review, you had concerns with our breakfast. We take all complaints very seriously. I apologize that you found our breakfast less than satisfactory. When you are in the Decatur, AL area again; I welcome the opportunity to connect with you better on your future stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for me.

Kind Regards,

Betty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walls, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've stayed at Jameson before (Winchester, TN) and was very satisfied, but not this time. the room had a strong odor, I thought it was carpet cleaner and my wife thought it smelled like cigarette smoke [it was supposed to be a non-smoking room]. The carpet and furniture looked worn out, especially the upholstered chair and ottoman. It looked as if animals had made it their home. The towels and cloths were rough and the bed was uncomfortable. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else; there are all sorts of motels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesonInnDecatur, General Manager at Quality Inn Decatur, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear papadoc1,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. As mentioned in the review, you had concerns with the condition of the furnishings in your room. We take all complaints very seriously. I apologize that you found your furnishings less than satisfactory. We will be addressing this issue immediately.

If you are in the Decatur, AL area again; I welcome the opportunity to connect with you better on a future stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for me.

Kind Regards,

Betty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 18 in Decatur
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#10 of 18 in Decatur
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Decatur

Property: Quality Inn Decatur
Address: 2120 Jameson Pl SW, Decatur, AL 35603-5514 (Formerly Jameson Inn Decatur)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Decatur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Decatur Hotel Decatur
Decatur Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing