We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New lobby and bistro are nice, the outdated rooms are being updated.”
Review of Courtyard Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Decatur
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New lobby and bistro are nice, the outdated rooms are being updated.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff was very friendly during all interactions I had with them. The bistro is nice - I only had breakfast there, but it was good. The lobby is very bright and colorful. The second floor room where I stayed was not updated - the air conditioner was a little loud, but managed the temperature control well. The shower pressure in the room was great and the bed was comfortable. The hotel served me well for my week stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    50
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
22
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We decided to pay a little extra to stay somewhere a little nicer, we weren't sorry. The evening desk staff was spectacular and really made us feel welcome. She placed us on the newly renovated 4th floor. After conversing with her, I felt that she specifically placed us there so that we could get the best benefit of our stay. The room was perfectly clean as well as the bathroom. Bed and pillows were comfy, fabulous considering most hotel quality pillows. Two things disappointed me, the lobby and halls were extremely warm and there was no free breakfast. Both things were minor and I didn't feel they affected my overall opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. The front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are typical Courtyard quality meaning clean, great bed, good shower, and very important to me- AC unit that has a button for constant fan so you do not have to endure the on/ off cycle. Some rooms have a balcony that is great to relax and enjoy early morning coffee in cool morning air. The lobby has been completely renovated along with addition of bar and Bristo. The colors are bright and cheerful and common areas roomy and comfortable. The rooms are also being renovated so soon everything in the hotel will be new again. Great place to stay with fair rates.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

By the time you read this, there will be a Bistro in the lobby. Rather annoyingly for me they were in the last stages of training for it, and the grand opening is tonight; the day I check out!

Courtyard is known for their Bistro, but not all properties yet have them. It's certainly a nice thing to have; simple and convenient access to food and drink that similarly priced hotel chains don't always have. So this will be a welcome addition to the property.

The rooms are essentially last generation furniture and decor, which if you've stayed in a newer Courtyard does make this one feel just a little dated.

The staff were friendly and pleasant. The rooms were clean and housekeeping about what you'd expect.

The three biggest beefs I had with the hotel were the heating and cooling system, the refrigerator, and the Internet.

Sadly, this is one of those Marriott properties where not all the rooms have refrigerators. The one in my room seemed like it had been moved around from room to room rather a lot. It was noisy, and made a constant clicking noise all day and all night, in addition to the other noises a refrigerator should make. If you're a light sleeper, that could be a problem, as it is located a few feet from the bed.

The heating and cooling system in my room was one of the old fashioned kinds that is programmed from the unit itself rather than a wall thermostat, and didn't have a specific temperature setting. It was just a warmer and cooler knob. This often left the room either too warm or too cold.

The Internet was a complete farce. The speed was variable, but usually slow. Right now I am getting 0.42Mbps, which is well below par, and it's currently 9:35am, long after most business travelers would have typically left the hotel.

I complained about the Internet on the first day, and while I did get a lovely hand written note in my room explaining that the modem had been reset and a tech support number, the speed never really got any better the whole stay. I burned through quite a lot of cellphone data when the wait became too frustrating.

So despite the fact that the staff are friendly, and the property clean. These issues would make me hesitant to rebook at the same hotel. I'd rather stay a little closer to Huntsville, where I'd have more choices and options.

It's not a bad hotel for the town, but it has some issues that need addressing.

Room Tip: Ask about a refrigerator. If you don't need one, you might get a better nights sleep not having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jatavius L, General Manager at Courtyard Decatur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear ZCT808,

I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Decatur. Our goal is to deliver great customer satisfaction. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case by your response. Once our room renovation is complete, all rooms will have the latest Marriott package. All rooms will include a refrigerator too. I apologize that you were having some trouble with our internet service. I wanted to let you know that we have looked into it and our internet service is as strong as it has ever been. Unfortunately, we did not meet your needs the first time but we would love to have another opportunity for you to stay with us again.
When you are ready to make your next reservation please let me know personally


Best regards,

Jatavius Lockhart
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were returning home after an extended trip. We wanted to stay off of I 65 and wanted a Marriott property. It's a bit off of 65, but you will NOT be sorry. Great staff at desk, Rhonda and Jay, were so warm and friendly. They made us feel as if we were expected company. It set the tone for our wonderful stay. The lobby was being renovated which we were made aware of when we made reservations. In order to compensate for this, there was a buffet of pulled pork, baked beans, buns, sauce, fresh salad, and dressing. Lemonade, tea, water, and coffee were available. A full breakfast will be provided in the morning. All of this will be complimentary, because of the renovation. That will be completed by March 24. Also, we were given a coupon for an appetizer at Logan's Roadhouse. The staff here understands the importance of being a part of the Marriott family! We highly recommend driving a few extra miles to stay here! It will be well worth it! We had a great room with King bed and small sofa.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Has always been good but now pretty great. Renovations are great but very noisy ( jackhammering in the lobby during daytime ) but they are really making it nice! Also they warn about construction on site. Fitness center is great. Beds are like a cloud. Spotlessly clean room. Decent little pool .. Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner. Excellent hot tub.
Down side? One somewhat rude lady I dealt with at check out. All of the other employees I dealt with were great however. Should be a continental breakfast for the price you pay. But over all I recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kaydayFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good hotel, nice lobby, clean and well maintained rooms. Self-service laundry facilities and a good gym/pool area. Hotel is also located within walking distance of the centre of town where everything is located.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGilleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Decatur
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Decatur

Property: Courtyard Decatur
Address: 1209 Courtyard Cir SW, Decatur, AL 35603-2698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
#3 Business Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Decatur 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently completed full hotel renovation including all guestrooms and public spaces. Newly Opened Bistro Proudly Serving Starbucks. Breakfast and Dinner and Full Bar Service. The Courtyard is convenient to restaurants, shopping, local attractions and corporate businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Decatur Hotel Decatur
Decatur Courtyard
Decatur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing