We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, quaint atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albany Bistro

Albany Bistro
Ranked #4 of 156 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Albany neighborhood, in Decatur, Alabama, Albany Bistro brings a new sophistication to classic southern fare. Our chef sources from local organic growers to bring you the best flavors of the season. Albany Bistro changes it's menu weekly to reflect the local growers' bounty. Isn't it time you escape the ordinary.
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food, quaint atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a unique restaurant. The dining area is small. It is located in a residential historic part of Decatur. Years ago a corner neighborhood grocery store was there.

On this visit, four in our party got the beef filet. Two others got the fresh catch special. All the food was excellent. Prices per plate were $25-$33, depending on whether you got a salad.

I think Connor's in Huntsville offers a greater value. But this is a great place to dine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmc-hartselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    18
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Delicious food, gorgeous atmosphere! Wish I lived closer to eat there again soon. I had the beef stroganoff with portabella ravioli-divine!!! Memorable! A pretty, charming, small place. Brick walls, silver-painted chairs, crystal chandeliers-a fun, eclectic look.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
293 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited Decatur on personal business and went here for lunch on a Friday based on a local friends recc. We we delighted by our experience. It's in a charming reclaimed residential neighborhood. A restored building, possibly an old grocery, it is contemporary and soothing inside. We had the basil tomatoe soup.. Excellent. the chicken and baked Brie Caesar salad, good. And the plate with fried chicken, mashed potatoes and local collards. The chicken, boneless, two pieces, was to die for, juicy inside and super crunchy on outside. Collards were cooked perfectly but too salty for my taste. But who cared,,,I ate all the chicken!, I will return,,IF I HAVE TO MAKE AN EXCUSE,,:->

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish I had this place in my town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went on business which is probably the best way to experience a restaurant since on the company dollar, you try everything. The atmosphere is not something I'd expect in an old neighborhood of Decatur but maybe that's what makes it charming. It's in an old grocery store and the decor is interesting. There is outside seating for the summer which would be a great place to have a nice long dinner. The appetizers were pretty good, we tried a few kinds and nobody had any complaints. Their selection of main courses is small but the quality made up for that. They have a decent selection of wine and the staff is friendly and ready to answer any questions. Nice place to grab a classy meal while in Decatur.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellence in a Small, Off-the-Beaten-Path Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We selected the Albany Bistro for a combined birthday party and New Year celebration. The food was excellent, the staff was professional, the atmosphere was enjoyable, and the live jazz band was very good and entertaining. Our group had nearly every entree on the menu and all were very complimentary of their meals (least favorite was the pork chop).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justmeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Albany Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing