We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mobile Bay Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mobile Bay Ferry

Mobile Bay Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alvin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mobile Bay Ferry”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Get there early, the lines get long fast, particularly if only one ferry running. Long relaxing ride with nice people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    120
    38
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The ferry was on time going and coming.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A scenic ride across from Fort Morgan and Dauphin Island and back. The cost is high, $34.50 roundtrip for 2 persons in a car. Many other ferries in the U.S. do not have a charge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunraindancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duson, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you don't mind waiting, it's a fun trip for the kids.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've ridden this ferry several times across the bay. I always enjoy the ride, but there are some things that travelers need to be aware of.
If you are traveling east on I-10 (like I do coming from Louisiana), you should stop at the Mississippi-Alabama State Line welcome center. Not only do they have a plethora of information about things to do in coastal Alabama, they also have a critical piece of information: ferry wait time. During peak seasons, the ferry wait can be as long as an hour and a half. Since I always go during early June, I always encounter this long wait. if you're in a hurry to get to the beach and relax, trust me, take the long route along I-10 through Mobile. It'll save time. The kids will get a kick out of the tunnel under the Ship Channel. However, if you're just road tripping it and you don't mind waiting, go the ferry route. I always enjoy the drive along the west side of the bay. You get to pass through Bayou La Batre (where they filmed part of Forrest Gump) and you also pass near Bellingrath Gardens. The bridge from the mainland to Dauphin Island is really cool, with some great views. Once you're on Dauphin Island and you're waiting, let the kids out of the car. They can play with hermit crabs along the shore of the inlet connecting to Mobile Bay. There is a refreshment stand with restrooms available.
Be ready for the price. It's kinda steep.
Recently, I've walked onto the ferry at Fort Morgan to go see Fort Gaines and the Estuarium on Dauphin Island. It's not a bad deal if you want to hop to the west side of the bay for the day. The fee is $5.00.
Always keep an eye out for dolphins!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RobT794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dolphins riding along”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved the open air concept and not too many cars on the ferry. It was an interesting crossing, not too long and when I saw dolphins swimming along a barge further ahead, it blew my mind.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice ride to see the bay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my ride from Dauphin Island to Fort Morgan. It was beautiful, lots of oil rigs though. To walk on the ride was $5, they do accept cards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mobile Bay Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Mobile Bay Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing