We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Full of Locals”
Review of Bienville Bar and Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bienville Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Friendly & Full of Locals”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Doesnt that say it all....met several locals & all very friendly its so good to find a place when you are travelling where the locals approach you & you end up having a good conversation. There was an extremely limited choice of places to eat & this has a very limited menu apart from burger & hot dog style eating there is their specials .... I had the Boston Butt it was delicious..would return if we revisit Dauphin Island

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Limited menu but good food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Friendly, clean, quick service. Very cozy atmosphere but would be very crowded during peak season. Not many other restaurant choices so this one would be packed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LGGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down home gem”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just spent a week on Dauphin Island, and discovered this local restaurant/bar across from our condo. Phillip and Bridget are very welcoming, and the barbecue is fabulous. We went back again for the New Years Eve celebration, and yet again for more ribs and baked beans, and even took an extra quart of the beans as we left (which they graciously froze and had waiting for us). I highly recommend Bienville to anyone looking for good food and drinks in a low key friendly environment that island residents frequent. There is plenty of local culture, good food, and friendly people. Note that this is a very laid back place; if you're looking for upscale fare or a fancy ambience, this probably won't suit your taste.

Georgia Platt

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Bar. It's where the locals go”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We happened up on the Bienville Bar and Grill. It's a bar with food, The food is excellent for a beach bar. It's very affordable. The service is good and the people are friendly. If you go, I recommend the smoke house fare. The ribs are excellent and the baked beans are the best I've ever had anywhere. They usually have food cooked that's not on the printed menu. All the food served is fresh. Especially the seafood.
Don't go looking for top-shelf liquor and beer. This is a simple dive bar. That's its charm. If you're looking for vegetarian fare or if you have other weird tastes in food...then this place likely isn't for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner. Potato salad was great. The service was excellent. The place was very busy yet the waitresses made sure you were well taken care of. Relax and enjoy an easygoing sandwich with the family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitaker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bienville Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing