We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Fort Gaines
from $650.00
More Info
from $650.00
More Info
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
241
178
40
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
241
178
40
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war self guided tour battle of mobile bay love history history buff blacksmith shop own pace lots of history air conditioned museum small museum cell phone great history walking tour on display worth the trip couple of hours walk around
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 465 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We went after they closed, so couldn't go inside. We still enjoyed getting to see the stuff on the outside of the main fort. Very cool place.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Z6205LBchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this but we like history. Our two 11 yr old boys seemed to enjoy it as well. Lots of walking up and down so take note. Had a working blacksmith.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Aktolgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

My family loves visiting historical sites, especially from the civil war era. Fort Gaines was great. Lots of outdoor walking, looking at the various sites. You can do an audio tour on your phone. You can cool off in an air conditioned museum. Definitely go inside the museum and check out the exhibits. The restrooms were decent and had fans in them today. If you have a small toddler or preschooler hang on to them and watch them close because there are some places they could fall, there’s not railing everywhere. Our 8 year olds were fine but our 2 year old made me a nervous wreck running around where there’s not proper railing. I wouldn’t expect better railing, I prefer it just the way it is, original and not modern. Just a warning to watch your kiddos! Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DKGM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We took 3 teens and 1 preteen to the historic site to learn about the fort in mid-July. It was fun climbing around, up and down, in all the nook and crannies. The museum, air conditioned thank goodness, was well laid out and had some very nice pieces from the Confederate war. The kids enjoyed watching the Blacksmith make a decorative hook using equipment that was over 100 years old. Good educational activity and enjoyed the grounds.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We visited in the morning and it rained, but it was still great. We walked all over the fort. The museum is informative and interesting. The cannons are awesome. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Dasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews