We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dauphin Island”

Islanders Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dauphin Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The food is good. The service was not so good, charged us and our friends both for crab claws that our friends ordered and still wanted us to pay for them ....HELLO....$14.95 for something we didn't order or eat.
Check you bill close............

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeannie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    111
    52
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“When in Dauphin Island you must stop here for a bite to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had a sweet and sour chili shrimp salad that was delicious. It was a Saturday afternoon so the restaurant wasn't too busy. We were seated right away and the friendly waiter took our order and shortly later we had our food. Comfortable seating and pleasant atmosphere. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iseektoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ chicken wings EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food was amazing here! We had shrip & grits, BBQ chicken wings, tortillas with crab and spinach dip and crawfish pasta! (STUFFED!) It was all totally delicious, as were the Pina Coladas. Staff were awesome, and there was brilliant live music - a guy singing and playing guitar outside, fantastic. Probably our best meal on the Gulf Coast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BathJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three visits and continued success. Shaved rib eye sandwich is superb. Salads are very tasty with their home made dressing. My wife enjoyed the shrimp lo-boy very much but said the shrimp and grits were the best. Our friends really loved the chicken marsalla.

The back deck is the place to be if the weather is not too bad though smoking is allowed. The no smoking inside is great. My only small complaint is that the music volume was way too loud. They turned it down upon request and that helped but I noticed it inched back up. I am confident they will fix that. As the evening gets later I suspect the bar portion will increase and the music increase accordingly. I understand that,

Service is outstanding - friendly and engaging. Not typical island service. Very clean and tastefully decorated atmosphere. During the winter season check for changing hours of service. The restaurant is bit cheap but the value is there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best on the Island without exception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Finally, on our last full day on the Island, a superb lunch!!
Unfortunately The Islander is only open Thu-Sun. We had the best lunch in 7 days. We shared the one pound portion of crab claws, fried with light breading, and the shaved ribeye sandwich with yukon chips. Simply superb.
Do not miss this fine eatery!
If ...we ever make this trip again The Islander is THE place to frequent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islanders Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Dauphin Island, AL
 

Been to Islanders Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing