We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Papa's Place is Tops”
Review of Papa's Place

Papa's Place
Ranked #37 of 97 Restaurants in Daphne
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Papa's Place is Tops”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We visit the Eastern Shore at least twice a year, and we always dine once or twice at Papa's Place. It is our favorite. The Filet Mignon is always top notch - if you like blackened things, the Black and Blue is excellent [too salty for us, but so is every blackened recipe; if not, there are other options that are all good. Fish is excellent. The traditional Italian Gravy [red sauce] recipes tend to be a little heavy, but as New Yorkers we can attest that that is the real deal.

We're visiting again next week and we plan to stop at Papa's Place again. Wouldn't miss it.

Important: it's BYOB. Stop at the package store accross Hwy 98 first, then drive on over. [Corkage is very reasonable.]

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzbeau1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everyone I have talked to loves this place, but we must have gone on a terrible night. Service was horrible, they didn't bring my daughters food until well after the adults meal was put down. The stuffed shrimp had so much salt in them they were inedible. The eggplant parm was undercooked. Couldn't get the waiters attention to get it fixed and left miserable. Typically give a place a second chance, but have never brought myself to go back.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBCG_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak Every Time”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was my third visit to Papa's Place and I always order a steak dish. My steak was cooked to perfection each time which is seldom seen with a medium rare order. The meal was outstanding...served so hot that my food was still very warm with the last bite (including the veggies). Service was prompt and professional but could use a little more casual friendliness. The atmosphere is quite and simple and could benefit from more deliberate decor but I'm there for the food. Regardless, Papa's Place knows how to deliver a great meal!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcoccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome BYOB restaurant in Daphne”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My family gets together at Papa's several times a year, and it never disappoints. The portions are large and the roasted veggies are wonderful. The prices are very reasonable, and I love the fact that it is BYOB, something that doesn't happen very often in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freshfromthelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food.”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

It was just renovated. Great food and service. Bring your own wine for a small fee. Staff immediately makes you feel like a regular, gives great suggestion, and are just all around nice. Really enjoyed our first experience here and we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellysianfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa's Place also viewed

 

Been to Papa's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing