We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Great Place to Eat”
Review of Guido's Restaurant

Guido's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Daphne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still a Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've been here a handful of times. We find it hard to order anything but the eggplant park and pork schnitzel. We enjoy it that much. Everything else on the menu looks great, so we need to start expanding our horizons.

As far as appetizers go, we've thoroughly enjoyed the fried green tomatoes, calamari, and the escargot and artichoke hearts in a rich creamy sauce,

They have a very nice wine list.

They get quite busy on the weekends. Parking is very limited. You might plan on parking at the Daphne city building next door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FairhopeFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    49
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

If you enjoy Italian this place was great. We began our meal with bread and olive oil . Then on to the lasagna which was a huge portion. My daughter had the pizza which came with a nice toasty crust. The wife ordered a salad which was also enjoyable and a very good size. Service was good, and we were in and out in about 30 minutes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mbigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am in the are on business every couple of months and this place was recommended to me, And I am very glad that I went, Daphne is a small quaint town on Mobile bay and this place is right downtown great atmosphere and the food is wonderful, great varied selection on the seafood and the steaks are great, LARGE Beer and Wine selection, Staff is great and so is the food,Try it out

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in Fairhope on our way to Gulf Shores and Guido's was one of the recommendations given by the innkeepers. We considered walking to a local place in Fairhope instead since we had already been driving all day but we are so glad we didn't! We arrived at Guido's around 6:30 and beat the crowd. It filled up a few minutes later. We were greeted quickly by very friendly staff and served drinks and delicious bread. We ordered the shrimp, bacon, and jalapeño stuffed mushrooms appetizer. It was so good our jaws dropped! My boyfriend ordered the scallops risotto and I ordered the shrimp and grits. The portions were huge. Both were excellent but we both think the shrimp and grits were not only the best shrimp and grits we have ever had but quite possibly one of the best dishes we have ever eaten. I think it will be hard to beat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We tried the restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The food was fresh, creative and tasty. The service was good and the ambiance nice. There are plenty of choices on the chalkboard menu and the prices are reasonable. We also liked being able to select our wine from the rack instead of just guessing on a menu. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guido's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing