We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cousin Vinny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guido's Restaurant

Guido's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Daphne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cousin Vinny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had originally decided to Guido's during a day trip walking around historic Daphne. I hadn't considered the time (3:30 pm) but Guido's wasn't open, their "other half" Cousin Vinny's was. It's an open bistro area w/ a bar & a few tables when you first enter. There is a line of tables on the front porch along the street as well. We chose the small dining room in the back. I was impressed by the originality of the sandwiches offered. There was pizza on the menu, but honestly, I didn't really look at it -- I was smitten by the description of the pork tenderloin sandwich. It's enough for 2 people! We didn't request a separate plate, yet the waiter delivered our meal that way and had portioned out our side of roasted potatoes as well. I inquired if they accept orders for 1/2 sandwiches, they don't. So if whomever your dining with doesn't want to split with you, be ready for a to go box.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlyaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    48
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Crab Ravioli was wonderful! I also loved the mashed potatoes and bread. The price was a little high but it's worth it. The best thing to do is to share a meal for $2 extra.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“The food and service are great BUTTHENOISELEVELISAREALPAIN.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good food, quality ingredients and seasoning. With what seems like only two servers it can feel frantic. And the need to stand in front of tables 'Tonight Only! It's Harriet and Ed Smiglewski in 'Menu Reading Improv'!' is not for the faint-hearted. Brings new meaning to making sure you can see the writing on the wall.

The acoustics in Guido's are atrocious. Concrete floors and walls and open, industrial ceilings means that all noises are amplified and bounced around the room. Get a few families and groups in there and it's the kind of loud that you hear for hours after you leave the place.
So try to go when they first open and never on a Friday or Saturday or holiday night. Unless you're the kind of person who believes in the soothing qualities of a jackhammer. And the somnolent drone of a garbage truck processing broken glass.

Will we go back to Guido's? You betcher Bose headset we will. But not when everybody else is there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BluntedHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great staff and wonderful food. One of the best places to eat in Daphne. This is one of our "go to" places when we want a nice, romantic dinner. The crab cakes are great! And the bread is just yum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

good selection on the menu. they know how to prepare a filet to the temp you order, and the place just has a good local feel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guido's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing